• Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS
  • Child Care or Adult Care Home Service

    What is a Child Care or Adult Care Home Service?

    A child care home service is a compensated home occupation that provides care and supervision for up to ten children at the same time.

    An adult day care home service is a home occupation that provides care for up to ten elderly or functionally impaired adults for a portion of a day.

    The Pima County Zoning Code, Section 18.09.030B allows child care and adult care home services in all rural and residential zones, except TH (Trailer Homesite Zone) subject to the standards for a home occupation.

    What are the limitations of a Child Care or Adult Care Home Service?

    In addition to meeting the limitations of a Home Occupation, a child care or adult care home service may:

    • Utilize the entire home's interior and outdoor areas
    • Use two vehicles meeting the home occupation parameters for size and parking    
    • A Certificate of Occupancy is required for the Child Care or the Adult Care Home Service use

    How do I apply for a Child Care or Adult Care Home Service?

    1. Prepare and provide the following documents for electronic submittal OR  applications may be submitted in person:
          2.  Submit your electronic documents to DSDPlanning@pima.gov OR  bring your application to the 2nd
               floor Planning Division.

          3.  Pay the fee in accordance with Table 3 – Building and Zoning Permit fees, items 2 and 39 for up to six
               clients.  For 7 to 10 clients, the fee is Table 1 - Public Hearing, Review & Processing Fees, item 52.  For
               electronic submittals, a record will be opened and an email containing an invoice with the
               record number for making payment through the online payment portal will be sent to the                      
               applicant.   

    Will my application be approved?

    • The application for six or less clients will be approved if it meets the limitations and uses of a home occupation and shall be emailed or sent to the applicant for their records.  The permit is valid for the listed property and does not need to be renewed. 
    • An application for 7 to 10 clients requires neighborhood notification to properties within 300 feet of the boundary of the subject property.  The noticed property owners have 15 days to file a written protest.  If no written protest is received, the permit may be issued.  If a written protest is received, the application will be heard at the Board of Adjustment.
    • The applicant shall obtain a State of Arizona License for a child care or adult care home service.
    • Any change of use for the approved home occupation permit requires a new permit.
    • If the permit cannot be approved, the applicant shall be notified in writing as to the reason for denial.
    For information and compliance with Arizona Revised Statutes, see Prohibited Acts by Counties
    Follow UsShare this page

    Development Services

    201 N. Stone Ave.
    Tucson, AZ 85701

    (520) 724-9000


    Department Home Page
    Department Hours
    Department Fees
    Department Directory
    Department Feedback Form
    Boards, Commissions and Committees
    Zoning Code
    Maps
    Online Payments

    Chris Poirier
    Planning Official

    Thomas Drzazgowski
    Chief Zoning Inspector