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STATEMENT

It is the intent of Pima County that anyone (other than AZPOST certified peace officer
employed by Pima County) who drives a County vehicle or a personal vehicle on County
business be independently authorized to drive by Pima County. Driver Authorization is
established through the application process outlined in this procedure.

DEFINITIONS

Authorized Driver: An employee, volunteer or other person who has been authorized by
Pima County to drive a County vehicle or a personal vehicle on County business.

County Vehicle: Any County owned, leased, or rented vehicle, including, but not limited
to, sedans, trucks, vans, and heavy equipment.

Defensive Driving: Proactive driving behaviors and skills used to anticipate and react to
potentially dangerous situations including adverse driving conditions (such as conditions
of the road, weather, and traffic) and the mistakes of others. :

Change in Status: The Authorized Driver's Arizona driver license has been suspended,
refused, revoked or restricted in any manner which affects the Authorized Driver’s ability
to lawfully drive.

Motor Vehicle Record (MVR): The Department of Motor Vehicle computer printout of a
driving or vehicle record. The manner in which driver license or motor vehicle record
information may be rereleased is regulated by federal and/or state law.

Driving on County Business: Driving from one location where County business has
been conducted to another location to conduct County business.

Essential Driving Position: A position where the ability to drive is required to adequately
perform certain essential functions of the job.
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Incidental Driving Position: A position where driving is a non-essential function of the
job. Individual may be required to drive only on occasion and driving is not an inherent
aspect of the position.

3. PROCEDURE
A. Driver Authorization, Qualification, and Application
1. Any individual who operates a County vehicle or personal vehicle on

County business must comply with this procedure prior to performing any
driving for the County.

2. Supervisors must validate that an employee is an Authorized Driver before
permitting the employee to drive on County business.

3. An Authorized driver may not operate a County vehicle or a personal
vehicle on County business while the Authorized Driver’s driver license has
been suspended, expired, revoked or refused.

B. Driver Qualification

This procedure incorporates standards which reflect the skills and abilities of a
driver reasonably necessary to protect the County, Authorized Drivers, and the
public from an unsafe driver. To be eligible for Driver Authorization, an individual

must:

Currently possess a valid, Arizona, Class A, B, C or D driver license.

Be at least 18 years of age and have had a valid driver license for a
minimum of one year.

Successfully pass the Pima County Defensive Driving course. Any
specialized training applicable to the vehicle or equipment being operated
must also be completed prior to driving the vehicle.

Have an Acceptable or Conditional 39 month motor vehicle record using
the point system below. Points are determined using the Arizona
Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division Acceptable Violation
Code Table.

7 or fewer points 8-12 points 13 or more points

ACCEPTABLE CONDITIONAL UNACCEPTABLE
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New hires into a Driving Position, to include current County employee
promotions, Interns, and Volunteers shall not have any of the following:

a. A current suspension related to Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

b. A DUI conviction pursuant to applicable state law in the previous 24
months.

c. Any conditions or outstanding Motor Vehicle Department or Court
Actions related to a DUI citation which have not been met.

d. An Ignition Interlock Restricted License (IIRL) at the time of hire or
promotion into the Driving Position.

If the individual has not had an Arizona driver license for the previous 39
months, the individual must submit all Motor Vehicle Records for the
state(s) in which the individual held a driver license in the previous 39
months.

C. New Hire MVR Approval Process — For County Driving Positions

1.

At recruitment, hiring department must identify the position as an
Essential driving position on the Requisition.

Immediately following any contingency offer of employment, hiring
department must complete and submit the Post Job Offer Vehicle Record
Request for approval of the candidate’s driving record for the last 39
months. Post Job Offer Vehicle Record Request will be processed within
one business day.

If candidate has not had an Arizona driver license for the previous 39
months, the individual must submit with Post Job Offer Record Request
all Motor Vehicle Records for the state(s) in which the individual held a
driver license in the previous 39 months.

Post Job Offer Record Request forms must be submitted by email or fax
to the address indicated on application form. Post Job Offer Forms are
located on the Fleet Services Intranet page.

D. Application Process

1.

Applicant must have completed and passed Pima County Defensive
Driving.
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A Driver Authorization Application and Driver Acknowledgement form
must be completed and signed by individual and supervisor. Forms are
located on the Fleet Services Intranet page.

All required forms must be submitted by email or fax to the address
indicated on application form.

Applicant’'s Motor Vehicle Record(s) for the prior 39 months will be
reviewed and application will be approved or denied. The processed
application will be sent to the applicant’s department within five work days
of receipt.

E. Maintaining Authorization

1.

Authorization period shall not exceed 36 months. Any individual with an
expired authorization will no longer be approved to drive on County
business. Authorization renewals should be submitted 30 days prior to
expiration date to avoid any gap in authorization status.

Authorized driver's Motor Vehicle Record will be reviewed annually for
any moving violations or changes to license status that may affect
authorization status. For a Conditional Authorization, the Motor Vehicle
Record will be reviewed more frequently.

Authorization to drive may be revoked by the County at any time.

Any citation or Change in Status to the Authorized driver’s license must,
by the next business day, be reported to the County via Notification of
Reportable Event form. The reportable event and supporting
documentation will be reviewed to determine if any changes to the
driver’'s authorization status are required.

F. Driving Under the Influence (DUI) citation and conviction

1.

A driver who receives a citation for DUl must submit a Notification of
Reportable Event form by the next business day and report any Change
in Status or restrictions to the driver’s license during and upon final
disposition of the citation. Notification of Reportable Event forms are
located on the Fleet Services Intranet page.

Pima County prohibits the installation of Ignition Interlock Devices in
County Vehicles.

Pima County prohibits the use of a personal vehicle equipped with an
Ignition Interlock Device.
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