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INSTRUCTIONS 

This application is for a septage hauler license. Pursuant to Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) R18-13- 
1103(C), septage haulers are required to pay a fee of $250 for each new vehicle that is licensed with the 
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ). After initial licensure of a vehicle, ADEQ will 
renew the license annually after payment of a $75 fee. This license is not transferable from person to 
person or from vehicle to vehicle. Note that a separate application and fee must be submitted for each 
vehicle license. 

 
A.A.C. R-18-13-1103(A) requires that any person who owns or operates a vehicle or appurtenant equipment used to store, 
collect, or dispose of sewage or human excreta that is removed from a septic tank or other on-site wastewater treatment 
facility, privy, sewage vault, or fixed or transportable chemical toilet shall obtain a license for each vehicle from ADEQ. 
Please contact the local county health department for a vehicle inspection prior to submitting this application to ADEQ. 
This inspection must be completed prior to submittal to ADEQ for processing. The vehicle inspection form is Page 2 of 
this application. 

 
This document is divided into three main parts. 
1)   Instructions – The instructions are intended to give you basic information regarding the application process, how long 

the process may take and how much it will cost. More detailed information can be obtained by referencing the specific 
rule citation listed with each application item. Please do not submit the instructions with your application. 

2)   Licensee Information and Certification – This section includes the basic applicant and vehicle information ADEQ needs 
to process your application. 

3)   Local Health Department Inspection – This section includes the local health department information and vehicle 
inspection details needed to process your application. 

 
GENERAL APPLICATION PROCESS 

1)   Applicant submits one copy of the license application and a copy of the signed Local Health Department Inspection 
Report Form. Note: The form must be submitted with an original signature. 

2)   ADEQ reviews application for completeness and informs the applicant of any deficiencies. 
3)   Applicant addresses any deficiencies. 
4)   ADEQ makes a decision to approve or deny the license. 
5)   Upon approval, ADEQ mails the license to the licensee. 

 
FEES 

In accordance with A.A.C. R18-13-1103, an initial fee of $250 is required along with your license application. 
 

LICENSEE 

The licensee shall be the person responsible for complying with the terms and conditions of the license. 
 

HOW LONG DOES THE APPLICATION PROCESS TAKE? 
The approval/denial process is completed within seven days from the date that the ADEQ receives the application in 
accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1073(E)(2). 

 

WHERE DO I SUBMIT MY APPLICATION? 

Submit your application to:  
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality 
Permits and Plan Review Unit 
1110 West Washington Street 
Phoenix, AZ 85007 

 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SEPTAGE 
HAULER LICENCE APPLICATION 
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APPLICANT CERTIFICATION AN    INFORMATION 

1 Company Information (Please include  DBA with business name if applicable)  

Business Name 
Mailing Address 
City 
Telephone 

 
 
 

 
Fax 

 
 
 
State 

 
 
 
Zip 

 

2 Company Contact      

Name/Title 
Mailing Address 
City 
Telephone 

 
 
 

 
E-mail 

 
 
 
State 

 
 
 
Zip 

 

3 Billing Contact (if different from above)      

Name/Title 
Business Name 
Mailing Address 
City 
Telephone 

 

 
 
 
 
 
E-mail 

 
 
 
 
State 

 
 
 
 
Zip 

 

4 Location of Vehicle (if different from above)  

Address   
City State Zip Telephone 

 

5 Vehicle    

Make 
Year 

VIN 
Tank Capacity 

 

6 Certification Statement (To be completed by the applicant in item 1)  
I agree to operate this vehicle in accordance with the rules of the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality governing 
storage, collection, transportation and disposal of human excreta (A.A.C. R18-13-1101, et. seq.).  I further agree to dispose 
of the material removed in accordance with the requirements of the local county health department and to obtain a permit in 
each county where such operations are performed in accordance with A.A.C. R18-13-1103(D) if required. 

Name (print) 
 

Signature Date 
 

7 Initial Fee of $250 Per Vehicle [A.A.C. R18-13-1103(C)(1)] 
 

Check this box to indicate fee is attached. NOTE: ADEQ will not process the registration without the appropriate fee. 
 
  ADEQ ACTION  

Approved 

Comments 

Signature 

Yes No ADEQ License Number    
 
 
 

Date 

 

SEPTAGE HAULER LICENCE 
APPLICATION 
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LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT INSPECTION REPORT FORM 

[A.A.C. R18-13-1103(D)] 
 

1 Health Officer/Sanitarian Information 

Name/Title 

Telephone E-mail 

Agency 

Mailing Address 

City State Zip 
 

2 County Vehicle Verification 

Applicant/Owner                                                                                                                                                                 

License Plate Number                                          Make                                                          Year                         

VIN                                                                                                     Tank                                                                         
 

VEHICLE INSPECTION [A.A.C. R18-13-1112(A)(2)] 
 

Inspection Date      
 

Is the tank capacity 750 gallons or more? Yes No 

 

Is the vehicle leak-proof? Yes No 

 

Is the tank fly-tight? Yes No 

 

Is there fly-tight storage for all equipment? Yes No 

LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT ACTION 
 

Approved Yes No Health Department Permit Number    
 

Signature     Date      
Disposal site/method that is recommended by the local county health department in accordance with A.A.C. 
R18-13-1112(B):    

 
 
 
 
 

WHERE DO I SUBMIT MY APPLICATION AFTER THE LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT INSPECTION? 
Submit your application and a copy of the completed and signed inspection report form to: 

 
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality 
Permits and Plan Review Unit 
1110 West Washington Street 
Phoenix, AZ 85007 

 
For assistance or inquiries regarding the licensing process, please contact the ADEQ Permits and Plan Review Unit at 
(602) 771-4123 or toll free in Arizona at (800) 234-5677, ext. 771-4123. 

 

 


