
  
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
      

          
            

2020 Federal Poverty Level (FPL) Guidelines 
 
The Department of Health and Human Services has released 
the federal poverty level (FPL) guidelines for 2020.  These 
poverty guidelines are important for a number of reasons, not 
the least of which is the Affordable Care Act.  
  
 The FPL guidelines are used to determine eligibility for 

premium assistance and cost-sharing.   
 

 Further, for employer shared responsibility purposes, use 
of the FPL guidelines is one of three safe harbor methods 
that can be utilized to determine an individual’s household 
earnings for purposes of satisfying the ACA’s affordability 
standard.  Coverage under an employer-sponsored plan is 
deemed affordable to a particular employee if the 
employee's required contribution to the plan does not 
exceed 9.78% (indexed for 2020) of the employee's 
household income for the taxable year, based on the cost 
of single coverage in the employer’s least expensive plan.   
 
As background, employers subject to the ACA’s employer 
shared responsibility provisions who fail to offer minimum 
essential coverage to their full-time employees or fail to 
offer adequate and affordable coverage may be subject to 
an excise tax if at least one of its employees qualifies for 
premium assistance through a marketplace.  If an 
employer is using the FPL as its affordability standard, it is 
allowed to use the FPL guidelines in effect six months prior 
to beginning of the plan year.  
  

 In addition, these FPL guidelines are used to determine 
eligibility for other federal entitlement programs such as 
the Children’s Health Insurance Program, certain parts of 
Medicaid, and subsidies for Medicare Part D prescription 
benefits.   
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https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/01/17/2020-00858/annual-update-of-the-hhs-poverty-guidelines
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Continued from Page 1 
 
The 2020 FPL guidelines became applicable on January 
14, 2020 (unless an office administering a program 
using the guidelines specifies a different effective date 
for that particular program).  Below is a chart reflecting 
the 2020 and 2019 levels.   
 

2020 Poverty Guidelines for the 48 Contiguous 
States and District of Columbia 

Note: The FPL limits vary slightly in Alaska and Hawaii 
Persons in 

family/household 
2020 

Poverty 
Guidelines 

2019 
Poverty 

Guidelines 
1 $12,760 $12,490 
2 $17,240 $16,910 
3 $21,720 $21,330 
4 $26,200 $25,750 
5 $30,680 $30,170 
6 $35,160 $34,590 
7 $39,640 $39,010 
8 $44,120 $43,430 

Families/households 
with more than 8 

persons: 

Add $4,480 
for each 

additional 
person 

Add $4,420 
for each 

additional 
person 

 
Additional poverty guidelines are available from the HHS 
Office of The Assistant Secretary for Planning and 
Evaluation. 
 
 

Annual Health Plan Reporting Reminders 
 
MEWA Reporting - 2019 Form M-1 
If you sponsored a multiple employer welfare 
arrangement (MEWA), including an association health 
plan in 2019, make certain that you file the 2019 Form 
M-1 annual report by March 1, 2020.  This form is 
intended to ensure that such plans are complying with 
the Affordable Care Act, the Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act, and other federal related 
laws.  Failure or refusal to file a completed or accurate 
Form M-1 could result in penalties of up to $1,625 per 
day (indexed, beginning January 15, 2020).   
 
As a reminder, the Form M-1 can only be submitted 
electronically through the DOL’s Online Filing System 
(http://www.askebsa.dol.gov/mewa).  In addition, plans 
required to file a Form M-1 must also file the Form 5500 
regardless of plan size or type of funding.  
 
 

 
 
Annual Reporting Reminder - Medicare Part D 
Disclosure Notice to CMS 
All group health plans, whether insured or self-funded, 
are required to provide notices of creditable or non-
creditable coverage to the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) on an annual basis. The 
Creditable Coverage Disclosure Form filing must be 
accomplished electronically, and is due within 60 days of 
the commencement of the plan year. For calendar year 
plans, this means the disclosure filing must be 
accomplished no later than March 1, 2020. In addition, 
this disclosure form must be completed within 30 days 
upon other events such as when the prescription drug 
benefit is cancelled, or if any material change in the 
prescription drug benefits that would cause it to change 
status from creditable to non-creditable, or vice versa.  
CMS provides both guidance and instructions, as well as 
access to the disclosure form on its website. 
 
 
Updated Medicaid/CHIP Premium Assistance 

Notice 
Individuals who are eligible for employer-sponsored 
group health coverage, but are unable to afford the 
premium, may be eligible to receive premium assistance 
from a state’s Medicaid agency or Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP). Thus, employers sponsoring 
health plans are obligated to annually provide a premium 
assistance notice to their workforce. This notification can 
be accomplished by using a model notice provided by the 
Department of Labor’s Employee Benefit Security 
Administration (EBSA).  
 
EBSA recently revised its Model Notice for Employers 
Regarding Premium Assistance Opportunities and made 
current as of January 31, 2020. The revised notice differs 
from the model notice issued in July 31, 2019, as follows: 
 
 With regard to program changes, contact information 

for California’s Medicaid Program has been added.  
In Iowa, the state adds contact information about its 
CHIP program (Hawki).  And in Kentucky, the state 
has expanded contact information relating to its 
Medicaid programs. 
 

 The contact information for various Medicaid offices 
has changed.  Specifically, the website address 
and/or phone numbers have changed in Kansas, 
Louisiana, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Virginia and 
Washington. 

 

http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines
http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines
http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/ebsa/employers-and-advisers/plan-administration-and-compliance/reporting-and-filing/forms/m1-2019.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/ebsa/employers-and-advisers/plan-administration-and-compliance/reporting-and-filing/forms/m1-2019.pdf
http://www.askebsa.dol.gov/mewa
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Prescription-Drug-Coverage/CreditableCoverage/CCDisclosure.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Prescription-Drug-Coverage/CreditableCoverage/CCDisclosureForm.html
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The revised Medicaid/CHIP premium assistance notice is 
available for viewing and/or downloading from the 
EBSA’s website, in both English (PDF or Word) and 
Spanish (PDF or Word). 
 
Method of distributing notice. The Medicaid/CHIP 
premium assistance notice can be included in other plan 
materials, such as open enrollment materials, or a 
summary plan description. Alternatively, it can be 
provided as a separate document. If the notice is to be 
included with other plan material, it must be clearly 
delineated as a unique document. The notice can be 
provided in written form; or, electronically, as long the 
DOL’s electronic disclosure rules are followed.  
 
Employers are welcome to modify the model notice; 
though, it is very important that the document provided 
to affected individuals clearly explains the right to 
premium assistance; and most importantly, provides at 
least minimal information about how to contact the 
relevant state Medicaid or CHIP office. 
 
Who gets the notice?  The notice explaining the right to 
premium assistance must be provided to employees 
residing in the below-listed states at least once annually, 
without regard to where the employer is located, or where 
the health plan is sitused:  
 

States Offering Premium Assistance 
Alabama Massachusetts Pennsylvania 
Alaska Minnesota Rhode Island 

Arkansas Missouri South Carolina 
California Montana South Dakota 
Colorado Nebraska Texas 
Florida Nevada Utah 
Georgia New Hampshire Vermont 
Indiana New Jersey Virginia 

Iowa New York Washington 
Kansas North Carolina West Virginia 

Kentucky North Dakota Wisconsin 
Louisiana Oklahoma Wyoming 

Maine Oregon  
 
Penalty for failure to provide notice.   Failure to notify 
employees of premium assistance opportunities could 
result in a penalty assessment of up to $119 per day, per 
employee (as indexed, beginning January 15, 2020). 

 
 
 
 

 

 
2020 Inflationary Adjustments to Certain 

Reporting and Disclosure Failures 
Failure to abide by certain reporting and disclosure 
obligations could result in civil penalties assessed by the 
Department of Labor (DOL).  These civil penalties may be 
adjusted at certain times for inflationary reasons due to 
enactment of the Federal Civil Penalties Inflation 
Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 2015. Below are 
select inflationary adjustments published by the DOL’s 
Employee Benefit Security Administration. These 
amounts became effective for penalties assessed on or 
after January 15, 2020. 
 

  2020 
Penalty 
Amount 

2019 
Penalty 
Amount 

Failure or refusal to file the 
annual Form 5500 

return/report 

Up to 
$2,233 
per day 

Up to 
$2,194 
per day 

 
Failure to file Form M-1 

Up to 
$1,625 
per day 

Up to 
$1,597 
per day 

Failure to provide Summary of 
Benefits and Coverage (SBC) 

Up to 
$1,176 

per failure 

Up to 
$1,156 

per failure 
Failure to notify employees of 
Children’s Health Insurance 

Program (CHIP) coverage 
opportunities 

Up to 
$119 per 

day 

Up to 
$117 per 

day 

 
It should also be noted that several penalty adjustments 
apply to the protections afforded under the Genetic 
Information Nondiscrimination Act (GINA).  For example, 
individuals denied access to group health coverage 
based on his/her genetic information could result in civil 
penalties of up to $119 per day of noncompliance (up 
from $117 per day). 
 
An employer subject to the federal Family and Medical 
Leave Act is required to post a notice in their work site 
locations that summarizes the major provisions of the 
Family and Medical Leave Act.   Failure to post this notice 
could result in a civil money penalty assessed by the 
DOL’s Wage and Hour Division of up to $176 per each 
separate offense (up from $173). The model FMLA work 
place poster is available in both English and Spanish 
from the DOL’s Wage and Hour Division’s website.  
 

 
 
 
 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/EBSA/laws-and-regulations/laws/chipra/model-notice.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/EBSA/laws-and-regulations/laws/chipra/model-notice.doc
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/EBSA/laws-and-regulations/laws/chipra/model-notice-spanish.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/EBSA/laws-and-regulations/laws/chipra/model-notice-spanish.doc
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/01/15/2020-00486/department-of-labor-federal-civil-penalties-inflation-adjustment-act-annual-adjustments-for-2020
http://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/posters.htm
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HHS Further Adjusts Penalties for  
Compliance Failures 

Due to changes in the law and indexing, the Department 
of Health and Human Services further adjusted its civil 
penalty amounts from those issued in December, 2019 
(see HHS Increases Penalties for Compliance Failures, 
Benefit Beat, 12/4/19).  These modified amounts apply 
to penalties assessed on or after January 17, 2020 for 
violations occurring on or after November 2, 2015. 
 
HIPAA Privacy, Security and Breach  
Failure to adhere to the HIPAA privacy, security and 
breach laws by covered entities could result in civil 
penalties.  There are four tiers of civil penalties that could 
be imposed; following are the inflation-adjusted amounts 
of potential penalties: 
 

 
Violation category 

Each violation 
(minimum to 
maximum) 

All such violations of 
an identical provision 

in a calendar year 
(calendar year cap) 

Did not know a 
violation occurred 

$119 to 
$59,522 

$1,785,651 

Violation due to 
reasonable cause 

and not willful 
neglect 

$1,191 to 
$59,522 

$1,785,651 

Violation due to 
willful neglect but 

corrected 

$11,904 to 
$59,522 

$1,785,651 

Violation due to 
willful neglect and 

not corrected 

$59,522 to 
$1,785,651 

$1,785,651 

 
Summary of Benefits and Coverage 
Failure to provide a summary of benefits and coverage 
(SBC) could result in HHS penalties, as well as penalties 
imposed by the Departments of Labor (DOL) and Treasury 
(IRS).  For HHS and DOL purposes, the potential civil 
penalty for willful failure to provide the SBC has been 
increased to $1,176 per failure. 

 
Medicare Secondary Payor Rule Violations 
 
 Working-aged rule violations.  An individual who 

becomes entitled to Medicare due to age can, of 
his/her own volition, choose to decline or drop 
employer-sponsored coverage; thus, an employer 
cannot encourage or induce the individual to choose 
Medicare over its plan.  The penalty for instances in 
which an employer or other entity offers any financial 
or other incentive to Medicare-eligible individuals to 
not enroll in a plan that would otherwise be primary 
has been increased to $9,639 per violation.   

Further, willful or repeated failures to provide timely 
and accurate information requested relating to an 
employee’s group health insurance coverage could 
result in a $1,569 per violation penalty. 

 
 Violations of Medicare mandatory reporting 

requirement.  The penalty for failure to provide 
information that identifies situations where the 
group health plan is (or was) a primary plan to 
Medicare to the HHS Secretary pursuant to the 
reporting obligation is $1,232 per failure.   
 

 
Updated Tax Publications to Assist Employers 

Several IRS publications have recently been updated for 
use in 2020 that may be of interest to employers.  
 
Employer's Tax Guide 
IRS Publication 15 provides an overview of requirements 
relating to withholding, depositing, reporting, paying, and 
correcting employment taxes. There are two 
supplements to IRS Publication 15 that provide a more 
detailed overview of taxation of employer provided 
benefits: 
 
 Employer's Supplemental Tax Guide (Publication 15-

A) provides detailed employment tax information 
such as determining classification of individuals as 
employees or independent contractors, determining 
what constitutes taxable wages or sick pay and how 
to report such amounts, as well as reporting pension 
or annuity payments. 
 

 Employer’s Tax Guide to Fringe Benefits (Publication 
15-B) provides information for employers on the tax 
treatment of various fringe benefits including health 
care coverage, health savings accounts, qualified 
small employer health reimbursement arrangements 
(QSEHRA), cafeteria plans, dependent care 
assistance plans, educational assistance plans, 
qualified transportation benefits, group term life 
insurance coverage, among other types of benefits. 

 
Medical and Dental Expenses 
For certain purposes, Publication 502 can be used to 
determine expenses that are reimbursable from plans 
such as flexible medical spending accounts and health 
savings accounts; though, it is important to note that 
there are differences between deductible expenses and 
those reimbursable from such plans.  

 
 
 

https://www.cbiz.com/insights-resources/details/articleid/7853/hhs-increases-penalties-for-compliance-failures
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/01/17/2020-00738/annual-civil-monetary-penalties-inflation-adjustment
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15a.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15a.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15b.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p15b.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p502.pdf
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HCSO Updates and Reminders for  

San Francisco Employers 
The City and County of San Francisco passed a Health Care 
Security Ordinance (“HCSO”) several years ago that requires 
covered employers to contribute to the health care costs of 
its covered employees, either through private means, or 
through “Healthy San Francisco”.  An employer is subject to 
the HCSO it employs one or more workers within the 
geographic boundaries of the City and County of San 
Francisco, is required to obtain a valid San Francisco 
business registration certificate, and Is a for-profit business 
with 20 or more workers, or a nonprofit organization with 50 
or more workers.   
 
Following are updates and reminders relating to a covered 
employer’s obligations under the HCSO. 
 
Annual Reporting Obligation 
Employers subject to the HCSO are required to annually 
report their health care expenditures to the Office of 
Labor Standards Enforcement (OLSE).  The 2019 
Employer Annual Reporting Form is scheduled to be 
made available on the OLSE’s website by April, 2020 and 
is due by April 30, 2020. Employers who fail to submit an 
annual report on time may be subject to penalties of 
$500 for each quarter the violation occurs. 
 
2020 Expenditure Rates 
For 2020, the applicable health care expenditure rate for 
large businesses employing 100-plus employees is 
$3.08 per hour; the expenditure rate for businesses with 
20-99 employees and nonprofits employing 50-99 
employees is $2.05 per hour.  An employee who is a 
manager, supervisor, or confidential employee, and who 
earns more than $104,761 in 2020 (or $50.37 per hour) 
are exempt from coverage under the HCSO. 
 
Updated HCSO Calculation Instructions for 
Employers with Self-funded Health Plans 
OLSE recently released guidance relating to calculating 
expenditures for employers with self-funded health plans 
to clarify rules issued in 2017 (see Updates: San 
Francisco’s Health Care Security Ordinance, Benefit 
Beat, 10/9/17).  Specifically, an FAQ addresses how 
employers with self-funded plans can determine whether 
its expenditures meet or exceed the required health care 
expenditure rate. According to OLSE, when an employer 
pays claims as they are incurred, and that calendar 
year’s average hourly expenditures meet or exceed that 
calendar year’s expenditure rate for that employer, then 
the required expenditure rate is deemed to be satisfied.   

For example, in early 2020, if an employer is assessing 
the cost of its 2019 health plan, the employer must 
determine whether the 2019 average hourly 
expenditures meet or exceed the 2019 expenditure rate.  
OLSE provides instructions to assist employer in their 
calculations for making this determination, as well as a 
sample letter to provide to their employees to explain 
how the calculation is made. 
 
Employee Worksite Poster 
The OLSE provides a new 2020 HCSO poster for 
employers to download or request by mail.  This 
workplace posting is made current as of January 1, 2020, 
and must be placed at each job site or workplace in a 
location where employees can easily read it.  
 

 
Paid Sick Leave Updates in the Garden State 

and City of Chicago 
Final regulations were issued affecting the earned sick 
leave law in New Jersey.  In addition, the City of Chicago’s 
paid sick leave ordinance has been amended.  Following 
is a summary of these changes. 
 
New Jersey’s Earned Sick Leave: Final Regulations 
In May 2018, New Jersey passed an earned sick leave 
law which took effect October 29, 2018.  More than a 
year later, in January 2020, final regulations were issued 
interpreting the Earned Sick Leave law.  The regulations 
parallel proposed regulations issued September 18, 
2018.  For background about this law, see our prior 
Benefit Beat articles from October and May, 2018).  Of 
particular note, the final regulations provide guidance for 
accrual or frontloading sick leave, establishing a benefit 
year, and an employer’s paid time off policy.   
 
As a reminder, the Earned Sick Leave law requires 
virtually all employers to allow employees to accrue one 
hour of leave for each 30 hours worked, up to a maximum 
of 40 hours in a benefit year.   
 
The law allows either frontloading or accrual.  According 
to final regulations, in no event can the employer impose 
a use it or lose it scenario.   
 
If the employer’s policy uses the accrual method, the 
employer may offer to payout unused sick leave. The 
employee has 10 calendar days from the date the offer 
was made to accept or reject the offer. The employee can 
take either a full payout or a 50% payout of the unused 
sick leave. If the employee rejects the payout entirely or 
takes a 50% payout, the employee may carry-over any 
unused sick leave to the next benefit year subject to the 
40 hour limit. 

http://sfgov.org/olse/health-care-security-ordinance-hcso
https://www.cbiz.com/insights-resources/details/articleid/5955/updates-san-francisco%E2%80%99s-health-care-security-ordinance-hcso-article
https://www.cbiz.com/insights-resources/details/articleid/5955/updates-san-francisco%E2%80%99s-health-care-security-ordinance-hcso-article
https://sfgov.org/olse/sites/default/files/Document/HCSO%20Files/HCSO%20Self%20Funded%20of%20Instructions%20_1.10.2020.pdf
https://sfgov.org/olse/sites/default/files/Document/HCSO%20Files/Sample%20Letter%20to%20Employees%20regarding%20top%20off.pdf
https://sfgov.org/olse/sites/default/files/Document/HCSO%20Files/2020%20HCSO%20Poster.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=dbab491c-9d4b-464f-a007-5c3d9602aa7c&nodeid=AABAABAACAAEAAEAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAB%2FAABAAB%2FAABAABAAC%2FAABAABAACAAE%2FAABAABAACAAEAAE%2FAABAABAACAAEAAEAAB&level=6&haschildren=&populated=false&title=52+N.J.R.+20(a)&config=025154JABiMmFjYzAxMy1hNjIyLTQ0YTctOTY0NS1iOGNlMTRiYzBkNGQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2flnvGwky16hNN9rcMfcun6&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fadministrative-codes%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5XV1-W8B1-JNJT-B0PN-00008-00&ecomp=h3t7kkk&prid=ac328539-1308-4851-b6bb-984a23da8b1f
https://www.cbiz.com/insights-resources/details/articleid/6834/paid-sick-leave-updates-in-new-jersey-and-michigan-article
https://www.cbiz.com/insights-resources/details/articleid/6500/new-jersey-joins-the-earned-sick-leave-party-article
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If the employer’s policy provides for frontloading, the 
employer must either provide the employee a payout for 
the full amount of unused sick leave, or permit the 
employee to carry-over any unused sick leave to the next 
benefit year subject to the 40 hour limit. If the employer 
pays out the full amount of unused sick leave to the 
employee, the employer may not use the accrual method 
with respect to that employee during the next benefit 
year. 
 
Carryover notwithstanding, an employer is not obligated 
to allow an employee to use more than 40 hours of leave 
in any one benefit year. 
 
The final regulations provide that an employer need not 
establish a single benefit year.  There may be future 
guidance defining how an employer can use 
individualized benefit years such as an employment 
anniversary.   
 
One of the significant matters addressed in the final 
regulations relates to an employer’s paid time off (PTO) 
policy.  An employer’s PTO policy can satisfy the 
obligations of the law but only if the entire PTO policy 
complies with each aspect of the Earned Sick Leave law.  
Effectively, what this means is, if for example, an 
employer provides a PTO policy that can be used for any 
purpose, such as sick leave, vacation, personal time, 
etc., the full amount provided by the PTO policy must 
comply with the requirements of the Earned Sick Leave 
law. 
 
In summary, employers subject to New Jersey Earned 
Sick Leave law will want to review their policies to ensure 
compliance.  New Jersey’s Department of Labor and 
Workforce Development provides on its website 
resources for employers, such as FAQs, fact sheets, 
guidance for earned sick leave policies and employer 
handouts.   
 
It is certainly possible that additional guidance, and 
perhaps, even additional legislation may impact the 
Earned Sick Leave law. 
 
City of Chicago’s PSL Ordinance Amended 
In December 2019, the City Council amended Chicago’s 
Minimum Wage Ordinance.  Specifically, the amendment 
redefines employer and employee for purposes of the 
Chicago’s Minimum Wage Ordinance and Chicago’s Paid 
Sick Leave Ordinance.  The amendments take effect July 
1, 2020.   
 
 

As background, Chicago’s Paid Sick Leave Ordinance 
took effect July 1, 2017, requiring employers to provide 
up to 40 hours of paid sick leave in a 12-month period 
(see our prior Benefit Beat article).   
 
Employers subject to the Ordinance  
A covered employer is any employer who employs at least 
one covered employee and maintains a place of business 
in the city limits or is required to maintain a Chicago 
business license.  
 
Effective July 1, 2020, a covered employer is defined as 
a person who gainfully employs at least one employee 
regardless of whether the employer has a Chicago 
worksite or is subject to business license requirements. 
 
Employees entitled to leave  
A covered employee is one who, in any particular two-
week period, performs at least two hours of work for the 
covered employer while physically present within the 
geographic boundaries of the City. To be eligible for leave, 
the covered employee must work at least 80 hours within 
any 120-day period. 
 
Effective July 1, 2020, excluded from the definition of 
employee are: 
 An individual who works for an employer who has 

fewer than four employees;  
 An outside salesperson (regularly engaged in making 

sales or obtaining orders or contracts for services 
where most of such duties are performed away from 
the employer’s place of business); 

 A member of a religious corporation or organization; 
 A student at, and employed by, an accredited Illinois 

college or university; 
 Motor carriers regulated by the U.S. Secretary of 

Transportation or the State of Illinois; and 
 Certain camp counselors employed at a day camp. 
 
Employer Notice Obligation. The Office of Labor 
Standards provides a Model Notice that must be 
displayed in a conspicuous place at the place of 
employment, and provided with each covered 
employee’s first paycheck. 
 
Enforcement.  In 2019, Chicago created the Office of 
Labor Standards to enforce Chicago’s labor laws, i.e. 
Chicago’s Minimum Wage Ordinance, Paid Sick Leave 
Ordinance and the Fair Workweek Ordinance.  The 
Department of Business Affairs and Consumer Protection 
formerly enforced the paid sick leave ordinance.   
 

 
 
 

https://www.nj.gov/labor/earnedsick/
https://www.cbiz.com/insights-resources/details/articleid/4365/paid-sick-leave-laws-in-city-of-chicago-and-montgomery-county-article
https://www.chicago.gov/content/dam/city/depts/bacp/OSL/chicagolaborstandardsenglish01282020f.pdf
https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/depts/bacp/supp_info/paidsickleaveinfo.html
https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/depts/bacp/supp_info/paidsickleaveinfo.html
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The information contained in this Benefit Beat is not intended 
to be legal, accounting, or other professional advice, nor are 

these comments directed to specific situations. This 
information is provided as general guidance and may be 

affected by changes in law or regulation. 
This information is not intended to replace or substitute for 
accounting or other professional advice. You must consult 
your own attorney or tax advisor for assistance in specific 

situations. 
This information is provided as-is, with no warranties of any 
kind. CBIZ shall not be liable for any damages whatsoever in 
connection with its use and assumes no obligation to inform 
the reader of any changes in laws or other factors that could 

affect the information contained herein. 
 
 


