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GREEN VALLEY JUSTICE COURT

EVICTION ACTION 

If you want to file an Eviction Action (Complaint & Summons Tenant Eviction) . . . 

AN EVICTION (Forcible Detainer/Special Detainer) action is filed for alleged violations of the lease or rental 

agreement or of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. 

The rental property subject to the action must be located in the justice court precinct (venue). 

You must give the tenant proper notice and you must wait until the business day after the expiration of the 

tenant’s notice before filing the eviction action in the justice court. The justice court does not provide the initial 

notice to vacate forms; if you need more information on the type of notice you must deliver to the tenant you 

may refer to the Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act online at 

http://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Eviction-Actions. 

You may file an eviction action in the Justice Court if the total amount due does not exceed $10,000.00. If

the amount exceeds $10,000.00 you must file in the Superior Court. 

Please STOP… 

• If the location of the rental property is not located in this justice

court precinct.

• If the total amount due exceeds $10,000.00.

• If you did not serve the tenant with the proper notice.

Please PROCEED… 

• If you are filing within the correct jurisdiction / venue.

• If you are claiming $10,000.00 or less in rent or damages.

• If you have properly served notice on the tenant and the time in the

notice has completely expired.

FORMS needed . . . 

• Summons & Complaint Residential Eviction Action

INSTRUCTIONS: 

1. Obtain a copy of the Arizona Residential Landlord & Tenant Act and familiarize yourself with the

contents.

2. Read the attached Information for Landlords and Tenants.

3. Check the venue for your complaint on the court precinct map. You are responsible for filing your

case in the correct court.

4. Complete the summons and complaint forms. Make 3 copies of the forms if you are filing against one

person; make 4 copies if you are filing against two persons (such as a married couple), etc.

5. Bring the original and copies of the summons and complaint forms, together with a copy of the

eviction notice served on the tenant, to file with the court clerk and pay the court filing fee.

6. Make arrangements with a licensed process server, constable or law enforcement to serve the

following documents on the defendant:

• Summons,

• Complaint,

http://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Eviction-Actions
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• Residential Eviction Information Sheet

• A copy of the provisions of any lease agreement and any addendums related to the underlying

basis of the eviction action, and

• A copy of the accounting of charges and payments for the preceding six months, if the action

is based on non-payment of rent.

IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ALL PARTIES KEEP THE COURT APPRISED OF ANY CHANGE 

IN ADDRESS - A NOTICE OF CHANGE OF ADDRESS form must be filed with the court when a party 

changes their address. 

INFORMATION FOR LANDLORDS AND TENANTS 

General Information 

This information page for landlords and tenants provides an overview of the Arizona Residential Landlord 

and Tenant Act and the references cited are to the applicable portion of the Arizona Revised Statutes. This 

information is provided for apartment and home rentals. The rules for renting a mobile home or a space for a 

mobile home are similar but are not covered by these pages. Mobile home parks are governed by a different 

set of statutes that can be found at A.R.S. §§ 33-1401 - 33-1501. 

A landlord can bill separately for utilities but cannot require a tenant to sign a lease that requires a tenant to 

waive any rights under Arizona law. A.R.S. §§ 33-1314.01 & 33-1315. It is also illegal for a landlord to allow 

someone to live in a residence rent free in return for the landlord not maintaining the property. A.R.S. § 33-

1316. In addition, a landlord cannot refuse to rent a residence on the basis that the potential tenant has children. 

A.R.S. § 33-1317. Landlords must also register with the county assessor. A.R.S. § 33-1902. 

From the tenant’s perspective, perhaps the most important thing to remember is that a tenant has a duty to pay 

rent and to pay that rent on time. If a tenant fails to do so, the landlord will likely bring an eviction action. 

There is no provision in Arizona law that allows a tenant to withhold rent because the landlord is being 

disagreeable or because a landlord broke oral promises to a tenant. Except as explained below, a tenant may 

not withhold rent. 

Tenant Obligations 

In addition to the obligation to pay rent on time, a tenant must do the following under Arizona law. A.R.S. 

§§ 33-1341 & 33-1344.

• Keep the residence clean and safe

• Remove and dispose of trash

• Keep all plumbing fixtures clean

• Use electrical appliances, heating and air-conditioning systems and plumbing in a reasonable manner

• Not deliberately or negligently damage the property or allow someone else to do so

• Unless agreed otherwise, use the property only as a residence

Access by Landlord to Residence A.R.S. § 33-1343 

A tenant cannot unreasonably withhold consent to the landlord to enter the residence in order to inspect the 

premises or make repairs. Unless there is an emergency or unless it is impracticable to do so, the landlord 
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must give the tenant at least two days’ notice that he is going to enter the residence. The landlord can only 

enter at reasonable times. 

Landlord Obligations 

A landlord is required to do the following under Arizona law. A.R.S. §§ 33-1322 – 1324. 

• Provide the tenant with the name and address of the property’s owner and manager

• Provide the tenant with a free copy of the Arizona Landlord and Tenant Act

• Provide the tenant with a signed copy of the lease

• Provide the tenant with possession of the residence

• Comply with applicable building codes

• Make necessary repairs so that the residence is habitable

• Keep common areas clean

• Maintain all electrical, plumbing, heating, and air-conditioning equipment

• Provide for the removal of trash

• Supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water

Security Deposits A.R.S. § 33-1321 

A landlord can require that the tenant make a security deposit to cover any potential damages made to the 

property. The amount of the security deposit cannot be more than one and one-half month’s rent. Upon move-in, 

the landlord is required to furnish the tenant with a signed copy of the lease, a form documenting any damages 

to the property, and written notification that the tenant may be present at the move out inspection. However, the 

tenant is required to ask the landlord when the move out inspection will occur. If a tenant requests the security 

deposit back after he has moved out, the landlord must return it or provide an itemized list of all of the 

deductions taken for property damage and the balance of the deposit within 14 days. If the landlord fails to do 

so, the tenant can file suit in a justice court and recover twice the amount wrongfully withheld. 

TENANT OPTIONS IF LANDLORD FAILS TO COMPLY 

Self-Help for Minor Defects A.R.S. § 33-1363 

If a landlord fails to make repairs and the problem can be fixed for either less than $300.00 or an amount equal 

to one-half of the monthly rent (whichever is greater), the tenant can notify the landlord of his intention to repair 

the problem at the landlord’s expense. The notification must be in writing. If the landlord does not fix the 

problem within 10 days from receiving the notice, the tenant can hire a licensed contractor, submit a repair bill 

to the landlord, and deduct the cost of the work from his rent. This provision does not apply if the damage was 

caused by the tenant or one of his guests. Sample notices are available at www.AZLawHelp.org 

Failure to Supply Essential Services A.R.S. § 33-1364 

If a landlord fails to provide running water, gas and/or electrical service, or fails to provide reasonable amounts 

of hot water, heat and/or cooling, then the tenant may give notice to the landlord that he is in breach of the 

lease. Sample notices are available at  www.AZLawHelp.org. At that point, the tenant has one of the following 

three options. 

Option One:  The tenant can arrange for utilities on his own and deduct the cost from the rent. With the 

utility company’s approval, a tenant group or group of tenants can pay a landlord’s delinquent utility 

bill and deduct that amount from their rent. 

http://www.azlawhelp.org/
http://www.azlawhelp.org/
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Option Two: The tenant can file suit and recover damages based on the decreased fair rental value of 

the residence. 

Option Three: The tenant can find substitute housing (e.g. a motel) during the period of the 

landlord’s noncompliance. If this occurs, the tenant is excused from paying rent for as long as the 

landlord does not provide the essential service. 

Other Noncompliance by the Landlord A.R.S. § 33-1361 

If the landlord fails to comply with the lease in a material way, the tenant can deliver a written notice to the 

landlord explaining the failure and stating that the lease will terminate in 10 days. If the landlord’s 

noncompliance is materially affecting the tenant’s health and safety, then the same notice can state that the 

lease will end in 5 days. There are two exceptions. First, if the problem can be fixed before the date specified 

on the notice, then the lease will continue. Second, the problem cannot have been cause by the tenant or his 

guest. 

Military Orders and Lease Provisions 

Under the Service Members’ Civil Relief Act, a military member can break his lease upon receipt of Permanent 

Change of Station orders or upon receipt of orders deploying him for at least 90 days. 50 App. U.S.C.A. § 

535(a). If one of those events occurs, then the landlord cannot refuse to allow the military tenant to leave. This 

provision of federal law also applies to any of the military member’s family members who may have 

responsibility under the lease. 50 App. U.S.C.A. § 535(a)(2). A military tenant who is either moving or being 

deployed is still responsible for any reasonable repair costs to the residence beyond normal wear and tear. 

To terminate a lease under this law, the military member must provide the landlord with written notice and a 

copy of the orders. 50 App. U.S.C.A. § 535(c)(1)(A). The military member can either deliver this notice in 

person or mail it certified mail, return receipt requested, to his landlord. 50 App. U.S.C.A. § 535(c)(2). 

Eviction (Forcible Detainer) Actions A.R.S. §§ 33-1368; 33-1377 

An eviction is a type of lawsuit called a forcible detainer. An eviction/forcible detainer indicates that the tenant 

has remained in or on the property after the landlord has given written notice that the rental agreement has 

been terminated and that the tenant must leave the property. A landlord can file an eviction/forcible detainer 

action against a tenant for nonpayment of rent, if the tenant has breached the lease, or if the tenant has 

committed a crime. An eviction/forcible detainer actions seek the eviction of the tenant and the repossession of 

the rental property. They may also be filed if the tenant misrepresented information to the landlord or has 

unauthorized occupants in the residence. 

Most eviction/forcible detainer actions involve an allegation that the tenant has not paid rent on time. If a tenant 

fails to pay rent, the landlord can give notice that he will terminate the lease if the rent is not paid within five 

days. After the five-day notice, the landlord will most likely not be willing to accept partial payment because he 

will not be able to proceed with the case unless the tenant agrees in writing that the landlord can do so. A.R.S. § 

33-1371. On day six, the landlord can file suit. The tenant’s inability to pay the rent is not a legal defense to the

lawsuit. However, the tenant does have some options.

The tenant can pay all of the rent and any late fees any time before the eviction/forcible detainer is filed to 

avoid eviction. If the action has been filed, then the tenant must pay all past due rent, late fees, attorney’s fees 

and court costs. If the tenant does so before a judgment is entered, he can avoid eviction. After a judgment has 

been entered, reinstatement of the lease is solely at the landlord’s discretion. 
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As a general rule, the only defense to an allegation of nonpayment of rent is that the rent was actually 

paid, in the manner and in the amount provided in the lease. 

What Will Happen In Court 

Eviction/forcible detainer cases are similar to other kinds of lawsuits; however, they move through the court 

system very quickly. The landlord begins the case by filing a summons and complaint and a copy of the eviction 

notice served on the tenant. The landlord then serves on the tenant by one of the acceptable methods, the summons, 

complaint, Residential Eviction Information Sheet, copy of the provisions of any lease agreement and any 

addendums related to the underlying basis of the eviction action, and if the action is based on non-payment of 

rent, a copy of the accounting of charges and payments for the preceding six months. The landlord will have to 

pay a filing fee to the court. After receiving the lawsuit, the tenant should file an answer. The answer form gives 

the tenant several options to check and explain as to why the landlord should not prevail. The tenant will have to 

pay an answer fee to the court. If the tenant is unable to afford the answer, the tenant may apply for a waiver or 

deferral of that fee. If the tenant believes that the landlord owes him money, then the tenant may file a 

counterclaim. 

The summons indicates that a trial will occur on the date listed on the summons. If the tenant fails to appear, and 

the landlord or his attorney is present, then a judgment will most likely be entered against the tenant. At the date 

and time listed on the summons, the justice of the peace will start calling cases. If both parties are there, the 

judge will ask the tenant whether the complaint is true. If the tenant says that the complaint is untrue, then the 

tenant will need to briefly tell the judge why. If the reason appears to be a legal defense, then the judge will need 

to take testimony from both sides and make a decision after a trial. 

If a landlord receives a judgment against a tenant, he may apply for a writ of restitution for repossession of the 

residence in five days. There is a fee for issuing the writ. These writs are served by constables or the Sheriff’s 

Office, who will direct the tenant to leave at that time. There is a fee for the service of the writ. The landlord 

can cut off utility services to the residence at that time but cannot dispose of or sell any of the tenant’s personal 

property for 21 days. A.R.S. §§ 33-1368E – 33-1370. 

A tenant can avoid the hassle, expense and embarrassment associated with a writ of restitution by turning 

in the keys to the landlord. Doing so ends the tenant’s possession of the residence. 

Appeal from a Judgment 

A tenant may appeal an eviction/forcible detainer judgment to superior court. Within five days from the date 

of the judgment, the tenant must do the following. 

(1) File a Notice of Appeal.

(2) File a Designation of Record.

(3) Pay an appeal fee or file a request for a waiver or deferral of that fee.

If the tenant wants to stop the execution of the judgment, then he must also file a supersedeas bond. A 

supersedeas bond must be in an amount equal to the judgment and costs. Superior Court Rule of Civil 

Appellate Procedure 6(a)(1). In addition, a tenant must continue to pay rent to the court to stay an eviction 

action. Superior Court Rule of Civil Appellate Procedure 6(a)(5). 
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PLAINTIFF CHECKLIST 
For a Residential Eviction Action Filed in the Justice Court 

The following checklist may assist you in processing your complaint and preparing you for a court hearing. 
Check off each action that has been completed. 

You may visit https://www.azcourthelp.org to view Residential Eviction Action informational videos or 
www.azcourts.gov/eviction for additional information regarding Mobile Home and RV evictions.  

Filing the Summons and Complaint 
[  ] Date COMPLAINT filed, Summons issued, and filing fee paid ____________________. The Summons 

will include a hearing date and time (Initial Appearance). 
[  ] A copy of the notice to vacate that was served on the tenant must be attached as an exhibit to the 

complaint. 

Serving the Summons and Complaint 
[  ] Print one copy of the summons and complaint for each defendant. 
[  ] Date SUMMONS with attachments and COMPLAINT with attachment(s), including any required 

written notice, was served ____________________.  The summons and complaint must be served upon 
each Defendant by a constable, sheriff, or registered private process server. Service fees will apply. 

Serve the complaint and summons with the following additional documentation: 
[  ] Residential Eviction Information Sheet; 
[  ] A copy of the provisions of any lease agreement and any addendums related to the underlying basis of 

the eviction action; and   
[  ] If the action is based on non-payment of rent, a copy of the accounting of charges and payments for the 

preceding six months. 

Service of these documents must be completed at least two days before the date set for the initial 
appearance in court. See A.R.S. § 12-1175(C); and A.R.S. § 33-1377(B). 

Initial Appearance in Court 
[  ] At the date and time provided on the summons, you must appear at the initial appearance. Otherwise, the 

judge may dismiss the case. 
[  ] A judgment form is generated by the e-filing system; however, it is not electronically filed. Print a copy 

of the judgment form and fill out the form. NOTE: The interest rate cannot exceed statutory limits. See 
A.R.S. § 44-1201. Bring this form to court for the initial appearance. The Court will complete the 
Judgment form when the case is decided. 

Writ of Restitution 
[  ] Print a copy of the Writ of Restitution form that is provided with your submission and bring the form to 

court for the initial appearance. If the Writ is issued, see A.R.S. § 33-1370 regarding your obligations 
after service of the Writ. 

https://www.azcourthelp.org/
http://www.azcourts.gov/eviction
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(       ) 

Attorney for Plaintiff / Address / Phone / 
Email / Fax / Bar Number 

GREEN VALLEY JUSTICE COURT
601 N. La Cañada Drive Green Valley, AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200

COMPLAINT (Eviction Action) 
[  ] Immediate   [  ] Residential [  ] Mobile Home [  ] Commercial 

YOUR LANDLORD IS SUING TO HAVE YOU EVICTED, PLEASE READ CAREFULLY THE 
ALLEGATIONS AGAINST YOU LISTED BELOW. 

1. This court has jurisdiction to hear this case. The rental is within this court’s judicial precinct and is
located at: . 
The business name of the property, if any, is . 

2. The Plaintiff wants you evicted and wants possession of the rental because of the reasons in section 6.

3. Any required written notice was served on the Defendant on ___________ and was served:
[  ] by hand, [  ] by certified mail, or [  ] other (explain) . 

4. A copy of the notice that was served is attached.

5. This case involves [  ] a subsidized rental property.

6. The Plaintiff is the owner or is authorized by law to file this case on behalf of the owner. The
Plaintiff wants you evicted and wants possession of the rental.

FOR CLERK’S USE ONLY 

Case Number: 

(       ) 

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Phone / Email 

(       ) 

Defendant(s) Name / Address / Phone / Email 
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The Plaintiff claims (check and complete all that apply): 

[  ] NON-SUBSIDIZED HOUSING: The Defendant has failed to pay the rent owed. The rent is unpaid 
since .  There is a prior unpaid balance of $ . The rental agreement requires rent of 
$  to be paid on the  day of each [  ] month [  ] week. The rental agreement 
provides for late fees calculated in the following manner: _____________________________________. 

[  ] SUBSIDIZED HOUSING:  The Defendant has failed to pay the rent owed. 
Total rent per month is $   .  
Tenant’s portion of rent per month is $  . 
Housing assistance payment per month is $  . 
Total amount of tenant’s portion owed by tenant is $ . 

Notice: If you are a residential tenant and the only claim your landlord makes is that you have not paid 
your rent, you may contact your landlord or your landlord’s attorney and offer to pay all of the rent due, 
plus any reasonable late fees, court costs and attorney’s fees. If you pay these amounts before a 
judgment is entered, then this case will be dismissed, and your rental agreement will be reinstated and 
will continue. 

[  ] NON-COMPLIANCE: After getting a notice, the Defendant failed to do the following: 

on this date: , at the following location            . 

[  ] IRREPARABLE BREACH: The Defendant has committed a material and irreparable breach. 
Specifically, on this date   , at the following location   
the Defendant did the following:  

. 

[  ] OTHER ALLEGATIONS OF NON-COMPLIANCE ON WHICH EVICTION ACTION IS 
BASED: State the date or dates notice of non-compliance was given and attach a copy of each notice, if 
applicable, to this Complaint:  

. 
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7. As of the filing date the Defendant owes the following:

Rent (current and prior months accrued since filing) 
totaling. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 
Late fees: (if any in written agreement). . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 
Utilities (as authorized by law) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 
Other fees or charges (as authorized by law). . . . . . . . . . $  (Add more lines for 

specific fees and charges) 
Rental concessions (if any in written agreement) 

Specify how calculated: . . . . 
$ 

Reimbursable court costs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 
Attorney’s fees (if allowed) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 
Other allegations of damages (as authorized by law). . . . $ 
Total Amount Requested . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 

8. The Plaintiff requests a Judgment for the amounts owed above and for possession of the rental, plus
after accruing rent and late fees due as of the date of the judgment, court costs and attorney fees.

9. WRIT OF RESTITUTION: The Plaintiff requests the court issue a Writ of Restitution returning the
rental to the Plaintiff’s possession 5 calendar days after the date the Judgment. If the eviction is for
the material and irreparable breach explained above, return of possession is requested 12 to 24
hours from the time of the Judgment.

10. By signing this complaint, I am agreeing that the allegations written are true and correct to the best
of my knowledge.

Date: 
Plaintiff / Attorney for Plaintiff 

Please inform court staff if interpreter services are required: 
[  ] Yes, I need interpreter services. Language: 
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Green Valley Justice Court 
601 North La Cañada Drive Green Valley AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200

SUMMONS (Eviction Action) 
[  ] Amended 

THE STATE OF ARIZONA TO: 
Name of Defendant 

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED TO APPEAR.  An Eviction Case has been filed against you. A 
court hearing has been scheduled. 

REQUESTS FOR REASONABLE ACCOMMODATIONS FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES 
SHOULD BE MADE TO THE COURT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. 

If an interpreter is needed, please contact the court listed above as soon as possible. 

1. You have a right to come to court.

FOR CLERK’S USE ONLY 

Case Number: 

(       ) 

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Phone / Email 

(       ) 

Defendant(s) Name / Address / Phone / Email 

Date:  Time: 

At the: Green Valley Justice Court 601 N. La Cañada Dr. Green Valley Arizona 85614 

PLEASE ARRIVE EARLY
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2. If you do not agree with the claims against you on the attached complaint, you must come to court at
the date, time, and location listed above and explain your reasons to the judge.

3. If you do not agree with the claims in the complaint, you also may file a written answer admitting or
denying some or all the claims and pay the answer fee. (See number 5.)

4. If you have a statutory basis to file a counterclaim, which is limited to damages resulting from the
landlord’s breach of the lease or violation of the Residential Landlord Tenant Act, it must be in
writing and served upon the opposing party. ARS section 33-1365.

5. If you cannot afford the filing fee, you may apply for a deferral or waiver of the filing fee at the
court.

6. IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR, a judgment will likely be entered against you, granting the relief
specifically requested in the complaint, including removing you from the rental.

7. To learn more, see the attached Residential Eviction Information Sheet or contact the court.

Date: 
Justice of the Peace 
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Residential Eviction Information Sheet (REIS) 

RESIDENTIAL EVICTION INFORMATION SHEET (REIS) 

(PUBLICATION AND DISTRIBUTION REQUIRED BY THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT) 

Notice    A landlord must provide a tenant with written notice saying why the eviction process has started. 
The tenant should have received this notice before this lawsuit was filed or with the summons.   

Rent Cases    If this lawsuit has been filed for not paying rent, the tenant can stop it and continue living in the 
residence by paying all rent now due, late fees, attorney’s fees and court costs. After a judgment has been 
granted, reinstatement of the lease is solely in the landlord’s discretion. Inability to pay rent is not a legal 
defense and the judge cannot give more time to pay, even if the tenant is having financial problems. 

Before Court    Eviction cases move through the court system very quickly. If the tenant disagrees with the 
landlord’s allegations, the tenant is encouraged to file a written answer. The answer form available from the 
court allows the tenant to admit or deny the allegations and explain his or her position. If the tenant cannot 
afford to pay the answer fee, he or she may apply for a waiver or deferral of that fee. If a tenant believes that 
the landlord owes him or her money, the tenant may under some circumstances file a counterclaim. The 
summons states that a trial will occur on the date listed, but due to the high volume of cases, a trial may not 
occur then. If the tenant fails to appear, and the landlord or his attorney is present, a judgment will probably 
be entered against the tenant. Tenants can represent themselves or arrange for lawyers to represent them. The 
court will not provide a lawyer. 

At Court    At the time listed on the summons, the judge will start calling cases. If both parties are present, 
the judge will ask the tenant whether the complaint is true.  If the tenant says “no”, he or she will need to 
briefly tell the judge why.  If the reason is a legal defense, the judge will need to hear testimony from both 
sides and make a decision after a trial.  After talking to the landlord or its attorney, a tenant may wish to agree 
to what the landlord is requesting by signing a “stipulation”. A stipulation is an agreement under which the 
parties resolve the dispute on the basis of what the agreement says.  Only matters contained in the written 
agreement can be enforced. These agreements should be clear and understandable by both parties. Most 
stipulations include judgments against tenants.   

Continuances    Either party may ask that the court date be delayed. The court will agree only if there is a 
very good reason. A delay will be no more than three business days. There is no assurance a delay will be 
granted and parties should come to court prepared for trial and bring necessary witnesses and documents.  

After a Judgment    If a landlord receives a judgment, it may apply for a writ of restitution to remove the 
tenant(s) and all occupants. Writs of Restitution are served by constables, who will direct the residents to 
leave. A tenant may avoid the difficulties associated with a writ of restitution by vacating the property and 
returning the keys to the landlord. This ends the tenants’ possession of the residence. A tenant will have five 
(5) days to vacate the premises unless the court has found a material and irreparable breach of the lease by the
tenant, in which case the tenant has only twelve (12) to twenty-four (24) hours to vacate. A judgment will
probably appear on a tenant’s credit report for several years. Parties wishing to appeal from a judgment have
five days to do so after the judgment is entered and can obtain forms and information from the court filing
counter. If a tenant wants to remain in the rental home during the appeal, the tenant must also pay an
appropriate bond and continue to pay rent into court as it becomes due. If the tenant prevails the court will
dismiss the case. Absent an appeal, the tenant will need to obtain the landlord’s approval and enter a new lease
to continue living in the residence.

Sources of Additional Information    You can get copies of the Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act, 
the Arizona Mobile Home Parks Residential Landlord and Tenant Act and the Long Term Recreational 
Vehicle Rental Space Act from a library or from links on the Arizona Judicial Branch – Eviction Actions web 
page, https://www.azcourts.gov/eviction. For information on the Residential Eviction Action process, please 
visit:  https://www.azcourthelp.org. If you wish to consult an attorney, you may want to contact the Arizona 
State Bar Attorney Referrals Line or, in Maricopa County, Community Legal Services. Contact the court in 
other counties for similar referrals.   

https://www.azcourts.gov/eviction
https://www.azcourthelp.org/
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Residential Eviction Information Sheet (REIS) 

HOJA DE INFORMACIÓN LEGAL SOBRE EL DESALOJO DE VIVIENDA (REIS por sus 
siglas en inglés)  

(EL TRIBUNAL SUPREMO DE ARIZONA EXIGE LA PUBLICACIÓN Y DISTRIBUCIÓN DEL 
PRESENTE DOCUMENTO) 

Aviso   El arrendador le debe entregar al inquilino un aviso por escrito que explica por qué se ha empezado 
el proceso de desalojo.   El inquilino debe recibir este aviso o bien antes de entablar esta demanda o bien con 
la citación de comparecencia.   

Casos que implican el pago del alquiler   Si se ha entablado la demanda porque no se ha pagado el alquiler, 
el inquilino puede detener dicha acción y quedarse en la vivienda al pagar todo el alquiler vencido, los cargos 
por mora, honorarios de abogado y costas judiciales.  Después de haberse dictado la sentencia, quedará a 
criterio exclusivo del arrendador reanudar el contrato de alquiler. El no poder pagar el alquiler no es una 
defensa legal y el juez no le puede ampliar el plazo al inquilino para pagar, aunque el inquilino tenga 
problemas económicos.  

Antes de llegar al tribunal    Si el inquilino no está de acuerdo con lo que alega el arrendador, se le 
recomienda presentar una contestación por escrito. El formulario de la contestación se puede obtener en el 
tribunal y le permite al inquilino aceptar o rechazar las pretensiones y explicar su postura. Si el inquilino no 
tiene los recursos para pagar la cuota que se cobra para presentar la contestación, puede pedir una prórroga 
o exención de la cuota. Si el inquilino cree que el arrendador le debe dinero, en ciertas circunstancias el
inquilino podrá entablar una contrademanda. La citación de comparecencia incluye la fecha en la que se
celebrará el juicio oral, pero debido a la cantidad de casos que se presentan, es posible que no se celebre el
juicio oral en dicha fecha. Si el inquilino no comparece ante el tribunal y el arrendador o su abogado está
presente, es probable que se dicte una sentencia en contra del inquilino. El inquilino puede representarse a
sí mismo o puede contratar a un abogado para que le represente. El tribunal no le asignará un abogado.

En el tribunal    El juez empezará a llamar los casos a la hora establecida en la citación de comparecencia. 
Si las dos partes están presentes, el juez le preguntará al inquilino si lo que se alega en la demanda es cierto.  
Si la respuesta del inquilino es “no”, tendrá que explicar al juez la razón en pocas palabras.  Si se trata de 
una defensa legal, el juez necesitará oír testimonio de las dos partes y tomará una decisión después del juicio 
oral.  Después de hablar con el arrendador o su abogado, es posible que el inquilino quiera aceptar lo que el 
arrendador pide y firme una “estipulación”. Se trata de un acuerdo mediante el cual las partes resuelven la 
disputa con base en lo que establezca el acuerdo.  Solo se puede hacer cumplir lo que esté por escrito en el 
acuerdo, el cual les debe resultar claro y comprensible a ambas partes. En la mayoría de las estipulaciones 
se incluye una sentencia contra el inquilino.   

Aplazamiento    Tanto el arrendador como el inquilino pueden pedir que se aplace el juicio oral. El tribunal 
solo otorga el aplazamiento si existe un motivo muy justificado. Cualquier aplazamiento será de tres días 
hábiles como máximo. No hay ninguna garantía de que se otorgue el aplazamiento y las partes deben llegar 
preparadas para el juicio oral y deben llevar los testigos y documentos necesarios.  

Después de la sentencia   Si el juez le ha otorgado una sentencia al arrendador, este podrá solicitar una 
orden de restitución para sacar a todas las personas que vivan en la unidad.  Los auxiliares de justicia 
(constables) notifican las órdenes de restitución y a los residentes les indicarán que tienen que salir de la 
propiedad. El inquilino puede evitar las dificultades relacionadas con una orden de restitución al desocupar 
el bien inmueble y devolver las llaves al arrendador, lo que le terminará la posesión de la vivienda al 
inquilino.  El inquilino tendrá cinco (5) días para desocupar la propiedad a no ser que el juez haya 
determinado que el inquilino ha incumplido el contrato de alquiler de forma irreparable y sustancial, y en ese 
caso el inquilino solo tendrá de doce (12) a veinticuatro (24) horas para desocupar la propiedad. Es probable 
que la sentencia aparezca en el informe de historial crediticio del inquilino durante varios años. Después de 
que se dicte la sentencia, las partes tienen cinco días para apelarla y podrán obtener los formularios e 
información en el mostrador del tribunal. Si el inquilino quiere quedarse en la vivienda alquilada durante la 
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apelación, deberá también pagar la fianza correspondiente y seguir pagando el alquiler en el tribunal 
conforme se venza. Si la opinión del tribunal fuera favorable para el inquilino, el juez desestimará el caso. 
Sin una apelación, el inquilino necesitará la aprobación del arrendador y tendrá que firmar un contrato de 
alquiler nuevo para seguir viviendo en la propiedad. 

Otras fuentes de información   Usted puede obtener copias de la Ley de arrendadores e inquilinos de 
viviendas de Arizona, la Ley de arrendadores e inquilinos en parques para casas rodantes de Arizona, la Ley 
de parcelas alquiladas a largo plazo para vehículos de uso recreativo de Arizona de una biblioteca o desde 
los vínculos en la página web de acciones de desalojo del Poder Judicial, https://www.azcourts.gov/desalojo. 
Para obtener información sobre el proceso de las acciones de desalojo en vivienda, diríjase a:  
https://www.azcourthelp.org. Si usted quiere consultar con un abogado, puede llamar a la línea de servicio 
de consultas jurídicas del Colegio de Abogados de Arizona o si se encuentra en el Condado de Maricopa, 
también puede comunicarse con Community Legal Services (servicios jurídicos a la comunidad). 
Comuníquese con el tribunal en su condado para obtener servicios de consultas jurídicas parecidos.   

https://www.azcourts.gov/desalojo
https://www.azcourthelp.org/


GREEN VALLEY JUSTICE COURT 

601 N. La Cañada Drive, Green Valley, Arizona  85614 (520)222-0200 

COLLECTION OF A MONEY JUDGMENT 

If you receive a money judgment, it is your responsibility to legally collect from the debtor.  The Justice Court can provide 

you with many of the forms and instructions needed to start your collection proceedings. 

GARNISHMENT 

A garnishment is a process that may enable you to gain access to monies owed to the judgment debtor by 

others, such as wages the person is earning at a job, or through a bank account. To do this, you must know where 

the judgment debtor works, banks, or who may owe the judgment debtor money. After completing the forms and 

paying the filing fee, a Writ of Garnishment will be issued by the Court Clerk. You may then take the papers to 

either a Constable or a private process server to have them served upon the party or business holding the money. 

After the business, employer, or party holding the money files an answer to the garnishment, you may file a Motion 

and Order requesting the Court to release the money to you. 

EXECUTION 

A Writ of Execution is used when you want to have the Constable go to the judgment debtor and attempt 

collection of the judgment for you. The Writ of Execution form is available at the Information Counter. After the 

filing fee is paid, the form is completed and Writ issued, it will be forwarded along with a check or money order for 

service fees to the Constables’ Office. The Constable will go to the defendant's home or business and try to collect 

the judgment. The Execution may be returned unsatisfied, partially satisfied, or satisfied.  A more detailed 

pamphlet is available at the Information Counter, but be sure to contact the Constable's Office (724-5442) for 

proper information on service charges and answers to any questions you may have regarding the specifics of this 

Execution.  

JUDGMENT LIENS ON REAL PROPERTY 

A judgment entered in a Justice Court can be transcribed to Superior Court and recorded as a lien in the 

county where the judgment is docketed. It affects the judgment debtor's real property currently owned or acquired 

later (except certain real property exempt from execution) including the interest in the homestead. The judgment 

lien is active for five years from the date of the judgment. If you choose this procedure, a request to issue a 

Transcript of the judgment must be filed and a fee paid in the Justice Court. When the Transcript is ready, you may 

take it to the office of the Clerk of the Superior Court for filing. When the filing fee is paid a case number will be 

assigned. You may then take the Superior Court Transcript of the judgment to any County Recorder's Office in a 

county where you think the debtor owns real property. A recording fee will be required to record the judgment. 

When the recording is completed, the Judgment Lien is then effective. 

JUDGMENT LIENS ON DRIVER'S LICENSES 

A lien can be put against a judgment debtor's driver's license 60 days after a judgment is entered in civil 

cases involving motor vehicle accidents (A.R.S. §28-4071). Before the Motor Vehicle Department will allow a lien 

on someone's license, you will have to complete a document at the Justice Court certifying that the judgment is not 

satisfied and pay a fee for a certified copy of the judgment. When the certification is ready, you may deliver it to 

the Motor Vehicle Department and file it with that office. 

SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT 

After you are successful in collecting the judgment through the options mentioned above, you must sign and 

file a Satisfaction of Judgment with the Justice Court. This form is available from the Information Counter. If your 

case has been transcribed to Superior Court, the Satisfaction of Judgment must be filed in the office of the Clerk of 

Superior Court. If you have recorded your judgment in the Recorder's Office, you must also file a copy of the 

Satisfaction of Judgment in their office as well. 

GV88 – Effective 06-21-17

A JUDGMENT IS NOT SELF-COLLECTING 

GARNISHMENTS, EXECUTIONS, AND LIENS  

ARE AVAILABLE OPTIONS WHEN PURSUING COLLECTION ON YOUR JUDGMENT 
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(       ) 

Attorney for Plaintiff / Address / Phone / 
Email / Fax / Bar Number 

 GREEN VALLEY JUSTICE COURT
601 North La Cañada Drive Green Valley Arizona 85614 (520) 222-0200

WRIT OF RESTITUTION (Eviction Action) 

TO: THE CONSTABLE OR SHERIFF IN _____________________, COUNTY, State of Arizona: 

On a judgment was entered against the defendant(s) for restitution of 
Address: 

YOU ARE COMMANDED to remove the defendant(s) from the premises and to return the possession 
of the premises to the plaintiff. 

Date Justice of the Peace 

NOTICE AND WARNING TO DEFENDANT(S): After service of this Writ, if you remain on, 
or return unlawfully to, the property you will have committed criminal trespass in the 
third degree. 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
I state under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. 
I received this Writ from the court on , and executed same as follows: 
Date / Time of Service:   . 
I served this writ on:         (person served). 
Property restored to plaintiff on this date:

[  ] Defendant already moved at time of service. 
[  ] Other:             .

Date Constable/Sheriff 

For Clerk’s Use Only 

Case Number: 

(       ) 

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Phone / Email  

(       ) 

Defendant(s) Name / Address / Phone / Email 



GREEN VALLEY JUSTICE COURT 
601 N. La Cañada Dr. Green Valley, AZ 85614 (520) 222-0200 

PLAINTIFF 

(Name/Address/Phone): 

CASE NO. 

___________________________ 

REQUEST 
(Processing fee may be required) 

DEFENDANT 

(Name/Address/Phone): 

File this document in person or by mail at:   
Green Valley Justice Court  
601 N. La Cañada Drive
Green Valley Arizona 85614

REQUEST TO THE CLERK:  (Please process the following action) 

□ Voluntry Dismissal:     □  with prejudice   □ without prejudice

□ Writ of Restitution

□ Writ of Exe cution

□ MVD Lien

□ Supplemental Proceedings/Debtors Exam

□ Issue Subpoena(s)- Number:______________________

□ Certified Copy of Judgment

□ Renewal of Judgment

□ Non-Renewal of Judgment

□ Satisfaction of Judgment

□ Other:

 Signature:______________________________________ 

□ Plaintiff □ Authorized Agent Signature □ Defendant □ Authorized Agent Signature

Date:________________ 

ISSUED this date:   _______________________ 

GV88 (Updated  01/29/20rs

_________________________________________
Clerk

__________________________
__________________________
__________________________
__________________________

_________________________
_________________________
_________________________
_________________________

)  
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