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CIVIL CHECKLIST FOR PLAINTIFF 
 
 
The following checklist may assist you in processing your case.  Write down the applicable dates, 
and check off each event as it occurs: 
 
 [  ]     Date your complaint was filed. 
  (Note amount of the filing fee paid: $   .) 

 
 [  ]     Date that the summons, complaint and notice to defendant were 

served. 

 
 [  ]     Date that the defendant’s time to file an answer will expire.  (20 

days after defendant was served, 30 days if served out of state.) 

 
 
If an answer is not filed: 
 
 [  ]     Date that the application for entry of default was filed with the 

court, with copies mailed to defaulted defendant(s) and other parties.  See Rule 140 of 
the Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure. 

 
 [  ]     Date that your request for entry of default judgment without a 

hearing was filed. 

 
 
If an answer is filed: 
 
 [  ]     Date the defendant filed an answer. 

 
 [  ]     Date for all parties to exchange a disclosure statement.  

Disclosure is the pretrial process requiring each party to exchange information with the 
opposing party.  The exchange must occur within 40 days after the filing date of the 
answer. 

 
 
If a counterclaim is filed: 

 
 [  ]     Date the defendant filed a counterclaim. 

 
 [  ]     Date that your time to file an answer to the counterclaim will 

expire.  (If the defendant files a counterclaim, you must file an answer within 20 
days from the date of service.  If you fail to file an answer, the defendant may obtain a 
default judgment against you.) 

 
 [  ]     Date that your answer to the counterclaim was filed and that a 

copy was mailed to defendant. 
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If a hearing/trial is scheduled by the court: 
 
 [  ]     Date of hearing/trial.  The court will notify all parties of any 

scheduled hearing dates. 

 
NOTICE 

 
Default: If the time to answer passes and the defendant(s) fails to answer the complaint, or if the time to 
answer a counterclaim passes and the plaintiff(s) fails to answer the counterclaim, you may get 
information and forms from the court or at  www.azturbocourt.gov for obtaining a default judgment. 
 
Dismissal:  Plaintiff may dismiss the complaint at any time before the defendant files an answer by filing 
a Notice of Voluntary Dismissal.  Once the defendant has filed an answer, both parties must stipulate 
(agree in writing) to a dismissal. 
 
Notice of Change of Address:  All parties are required to inform the court in writing of a current address 
to ensure that the party can receive all notices mailed from the court. 
 

 

Note: The information in this checklist is only a summary.  It is not intended to be a complete list of 

the requirements of the Arizona Revised Statutes or of the Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure. 

http://www.azturbocourt.gov/

