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SMALL CLAIMS CHECKLIST FOR DEFENDANT 

 

The following checklist may assist you in processing your case.  Write down the applicable dates, 

and check off each event as it occurs: 

 [  ] _______________   Date the summons and complaint were served. 

[  ] _______________   Date that your time to file an answer will expire.  (20 days from 

date you were served.  See ARS §22-514.)  If you fail to file an answer the plaintiff may 

obtain a default judgment against you. 

[  ] _______________   Date that a motion for change of venue was filed.  (If you object to 

venue [the precinct in which the complaint was filed], you must file a Motion for Change 

of Venue before your answer is filed.) 

[  ] _______________   Date that your answer was filed and a copy mailed to the plaintiff.  

(Note amount of the filing fee paid: $__________.) 

 

If a counterclaim is filed: 

[  ] _______________  Date that your counterclaim was filed and a copy was mailed to the 

plaintiff(s).  If you intend to file a counterclaim you must do so at the same time that your 

answer is filed. 

[  ] _______________   Date that the plaintiff’s time to file a reply to counterclaim will 

expire.  (20 days from date of service of counterclaim.  See Rule 12(a) of the Arizona 

Rules of Civil Procedure.) 

[  ] _______________   Date that plaintiff’s reply to your counterclaim was received. 

 

If a hearing is scheduled by the court: 

[  ] _______________   Date of Hearing.  Bring all evidence, exhibits and witnesses you 

will need to present your claim or your defense.  Bring extra copies of documents for all 

parties and the court. 

NOTICE 

Transfer of Hearing:  If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have your case 

transferred to the civil division of the justice court pursuant to ARS §22-504(A), if you 

request such transfer at least 10 days prior to the date of the scheduled hearing. 

 

Dismissal:  Plaintiff may dismiss the complaint at any time before the defendant files an 

answer by filing a Notice of Voluntary Dismissal.  Once the defendant has filed an answer, 

both parties must stipulate (agree in writing) to a dismissal. 

 

Notice of Change of Address:  All parties are required to inform the court in writing of a 

current address to ensure that the party can receive all notices mailed from the court. 

 

Note: The information in this checklist is only a summary.  It is not intended to be a 

complete list of the requirements of the Arizona Revised Statutes or of the Arizona Rules 

of Civil Procedure. 

 


