Useful Phone Numbers

Arizona Department of Transportation - (520) 388-4200
Marana Parks and Recreation - (520) 382-1950

Marana Planning Department - (520) 382-2612

Oro Valley Bicycle Coordinator - (520) 229-5057

Pima Association of Governments Regional Bicycle
Coordinator - (520) 792-1093

Pima County Bicycle and Pedestrian Program -
(520) 724-BIKE (724-2453)

Pima County Clean Air Program - (520) 724-7446

Pima County Natural Resources Parks
and Recreation- (520) 877-6000

Sahuarita Public Works - (520) 344-7100
Tucson Bicycle and Pedestrian Program - (520) 791-4371

Reporting Road Maintenance Needs

Arizona Department of Transportation Street Maintenance -
(520) 388-4200

Marana Streets Department - (520) 382-2667

Oro Valley Street Maintenance - (520) 229-5070
Pima County Street Maintenance - (520) 740-2639
Sahuarita Public Works - (520) 344-7100

South Tucson Public Works - (520) 770-0032

Tucson Street Maintenance - (520) 791-3154

To get involved in bicycle

transportation issues, contact:

tucson-pima county

. PIMA COUNTY

BICYCLE & PEDESTRIAN PROGRAM

-

FREE!

www.bikeped.pima.gov

Shared-use Path
Paved 8 ft. to 16 ft. wide path, separated from street. Watch for
equestrians, pedestrians and dogs. Suitable for slower speeds.

Bike Route

On lower volume street, with “Bike Route” signs. Maximum
speed limit of 30 mph.

Bike Route with Striped Shoulder,

Bus/Bike Lanes

On major street, with white-edge line, approx. 4 ft. to 10 ft.
wide paved shoulder, with speed limits of 25 mph or more.
Includes Bus/Bike Lanes on major streets, 10-12 ft. bus and
right-turn lane, shared use with bicycles.

Residential Streets
Residential and collector streets with maximum speed limit of

35 mph.

Key Connecting Streets

Streets that provide connectivity on popular bicycling routes.
May be acceptable for experienced riders. These streets have
more traffic, higher speeds and less width. Choose streets
appropriate for your abilities.

Major Streets
Major streets with no bike lanes or paved shoulders.

Planned Improvements

Roadway or bikeway planned for improvement or under
construction. Consider alternate routes during construction.
Call (520) 724-BIKE for more information.
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Mountain Bike Trailheads and BMX Tracks

Bike Boulevards
Low-volume and low-speed streets that have been optimized
for bicycle travel with traffic calming, traffic reduction, signage,

4th
Avenue

pavement markings and intersection crossing treatments.
Cyclists are urged to use roads and paths that are suitable E-
for their individual cycling skills and to be aware that during ==+
certain times of the day, traffic volumes may be unsuitable

for their cycling abilities. Visit www.bikeped.pima.gov for E :
the latest version of this map. .

This map is brought to you by the following:

K-
: PIMA COUNTY |bned

Program Manager Matthew Zoll.
©2015 Pima County Department of Transportation

Know the Laws

28-735. Overtaking bicycles; civil penalties

A. When overtaking and passing a bicycle proceeding in the same
direction, a person driving a motor vehicle shall exercise due care by
leaving a safe distance between the motor vehicle and the bicycle of
not less than three feet until the motor vehicle is safely past the
overtaken bicycle.

B. If a person violates this section and the violation results in a collision
causing:

1. Serious physical injury as defined in section13-105 to another person,
the violator is subject to a civil penalty of up to five hundred dollars.

2. Death to another person, the violator is subject to a civil penalty of
up to one thousand dollars.

C. Subsection B of this section does not apply to a bicyclist who is
injured in a vehicular traffic lane when a designated bicycle lane or
path is present and passable.

28-756. Method of giving hand and arm signals

A. Except as provided by subsection B, a person shall give all hand and
arm signals required by this article from the left side of the vehicle in
the following manner, and the signals shall indicate as follows:

1. Left turn. Hand and arm extended horizontally.
2. Right turn. Hand and arm extended upward.
3. Stop or decrease speed. Hand and arm extended downward.

B. A person operating a bicycle may give a right turn signal by
extending the right hand and arm horizontally to the right side of the

bicycle.
28-811. Parent and guardian responsibility; applicability of
article

A. The parent of a child and the guardian of a ward shall not authorize
or knowingly permit the child or ward to violate this chapter.

B. Except as otherwise provided in this article, this chapter applies to a
bicycle when it is operated on a highway or on a path set aside for
the exclusive use of bicycles.

28-812. Applicability of traffic laws to bicycle riders

A person riding a bicycle on a roadway or on a shoulder adjoining a
roadway is granted all of the rights and is subject to all of the duties
applicable to the driver of a vehicle by this chapter and chapters 4 and 5
of this title, except special rules in this article and except provisions of
this chapter and chapters 4 and 5 of this title that by their nature can
have no application.

28-813. Riding on bicycles

A. A person propelling a bicycle shall not ride other than on or astride a
permanent and regular seat attached to the bicycle.

B. A person shall not use a bicycle to carry more persons at one time
than the number for which it is designed and equipped.

28-814. Clinging to vehicle
A person riding on a bicycle, coaster, sled or toy vehicle or on roller

skates shall not attach the bicycle, coaster, sled, toy vehicle or roller
skates or that person to a vehicle on a roadway.

28-815. Riding on roadway and bicycle path; bicycle path usage

A. A person riding a bicycle on a roadway at less than the normal speed
of traffic at the time and place and under the conditions then existing
shall ride as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or edge of the
roadway, except under any of the following situations:

1. If overtaking and passing another bicycle or vehicle proceeding in the
same direction.

2. If preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private road or
driveway.

3. If reasonably necessary to avoid conditions, including fixed or moving
objects, parked or moving vehicles, bicycles, pedestrians, animals or
surface hazards.

4. If the lane in which the person is operating the bicycle is too narrow
for a bicycle and a vehicle to travel safely side by side within the
lane.

B. Persons riding bicycles on a roadway shall not ride more than two
abreast except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the
exclusive use of bicycles.

C. A path or lane that is designated as a bicycle path or lane by state or
local authorities is for the exclusive use of bicycles even though other
uses are permitted pursuant to subsection D or are otherwise
permitted by state or local authorities.

D. A person shall not operate, stop, park or leave standing a vehicle in a
path or lane designated as a bicycle path or lane by a state or local
authority except in the case of emergency or for crossing the path or
lane to gain access to a public or private road or driveway.

E. Subsection D does not prohibit the use of the path or lane by the
appropriate local authority.

28-816. Carrying article on bicycle
A person shall not carry a package, bundle or article while operating a

bicycle if the package, bundle or article prevents the driver from

keeping at least one hand on the handlebars.

28-817. Bicycle equipment

A. A bicycle that is used at nighttime shall have a lamp on the front that
emits a white light visible from a distance of at least five hundred feet
to the front and a red reflector on the rear of a type that is approved
by the department and that is visible from all distances from fifty feet
to three hundred feet to the rear when the reflector is directly in
front of lawful upper beams of head lamps on a motor vehicle. A
bicycle may have a lamp that emits a red light visible from a distance
of five hundred feet to the rear in addition to the red reflector.

B. A person shall not operate a bicycle that is equipped with a siren or
whistle.

C. A bicycle shall be equipped with a brake that enables the operator to
make the braked wheels skid on dry, level, clean pavement.

28-2516. Motorized electric or gas powered bicycles or tricycles;
definition
A. Notwithstanding any other provision of this title:

1. A certificate of title is not required for a motorized electric or gas
powered bicycle or tricycle.

2. Registration is not required for a motorized electric or gas powered
bicycle or tricycle.

3. Vehicle license tax is not imposed on a motorized electric or gas
powered bicycle or tricycle.

4. A motorized electric or gas powered bicycle or tricycle is exempt
from the provisions of section 28-964 relating to required equipment
on motorcycles and motor-driven cycles and from the provisions of
title 49, chapter 3, article 5 relating to vehicle emissions inspections.

5. A driver license is not required to operate a motorized electric or gas
powered bicycle or tricycle.

6. A motorized electric or gas powered bicycle or tricycle may use
rights-of-way designated for the exclusive use of bicycles.

7. A motorized electric or gas powered bicycle or tricycle is not subject
to chapter 9 of this title.

B. This section does not prohibit a local authority from adopting an
ordinance that regulates or prohibits the operation of motorized
electric or gas powered bicycles or tricycles, except that a local
authority shall not adopt an ordinance that requires registration and
licensing of motorized electric or gas powered bicycles or tricycles.

C. For the purposes of this section, "motorized electric or gas powered
bicycle or tricycle" means a bicycle or tricycle that is equipped with a
helper motor that has a maximum piston displacement of forty-eight
cubic centimeters or less, that may also be self-propelled and that is
operated at speeds of less than twenty miles per hour.

Pima County Bicycle Laws

10.43.010 Requirement for helmet use

No person under eighteen years of age shall ride a bicycle or be a
passenger on a bicycle, ride in a restraining seat attached to a bicycle,

or ride in a trailer towed by a bicycle unless that person is wearing a

properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet which meets the current
standards of the American National Standards Institute for protective
headgear. (Ord. 1995-12 § 1 (part), 1995)

10.43.030 Civil penalties

Any person in violation of this chapter shall be found guilty of a civil
infraction and be required to pay a minimum fine of fifty dollars that
cannot be suspended except pursuant to Section 10.43.040. (Ord.
1995-12 § 1 (part), 1995)

10.43.040 Waiver of fine

The penalty provided in this section for a violation of Section10.43.010
may be waived if an offender presents purchased or otherwise obtained
since the time of the violation and that the minor uses or intends to use
said helmet whenever required to do so by this chapter. (Ord. 1995-12 §
1 (part), 1995)
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Tucson Bicycle Laws

SEC. 5-1. Parking of bicycles

It shall be unlawful to park a bicycle upon any public sidewalk or street
in a manner that substantially impedes pedestrian or vehicular traffic or
obstructs access to public or private facilities.

SEC. 5-2. Riding on sidewalks and pedestrian paths, and
through underpasses

A. It shall be unlawful to ride a bicycle on any public sidewalks, or upon
a designated pedestrian path in any public park, unless signs are
posted specifically permitting bicycling.

B. It shall be unlawful to ride a bicycle through any underpass when
signs are posted prohibiting bicycling.

SEC. 20-29. (1). Bicycle helmets

No person under eighteen (18) years of age shall ride a bicycle or be a
passenger on a bicycle, ride in a restraining seat attached to a bicycle,
or ride in a trailer towed by a bicycle unless that person is wearing a
properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet which meets the current
standards of the American National Standards.

Motorized bicycles

Due to the length of legal requirements affecting motorized bicycles,
City of Tucson code is not not provided in this section. Information on
City of Tucson motorized bicycle law can be found at:

http://www.tucsonaz.gov/files/bicycle/moto_bikes.pdf

Any motorized bicycles driven at 20 mph or higher may be subject to
fines of up to $1,263. Consult City code and State law for rights and
responsibilities regarding operation of motorized bicycles.



