
 

Dear Retail Owner/Manager, 
 
Your establishment has been identified as a retailer that has sold a tobacco product to a 
minor.  Both compliance to Arizona state laws, and the health and welfare of our youth is 
of extreme importance. 
 
In order to help educate yourself and your employees, regarding the laws surrounding 
the sale of tobacco, Pima County Tobacco and Chronic Disease Prevention Program has 
compiled this packet for use in your establishment. 
 
Included in this packet are educational materials to aid in the compliance of Arizona 
tobacco retailer laws and build knowledge around the harmful effects that tobacco has 
on youth.  Signage recommendations are that they be displayed in a conspicuous area 
where employees gather and in the tobacco sales area to discourage underage persons 
from attempting to purchase tobacco products.  Utilization of these tools are at your 
discretion but keep in mind, they are most effective when used as intended. 
 
If you feel further education would benefit you and your employees, we offer our 
monthly Arizona Tobacco Retailer Training.  To register, please visit: 
www.pima.gov/artt or contact me directly.   
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
Name 
Program Coordinator 
Tobacco and Chronic Disease Prevention 
Office (520) 247 – xxxx  
Email 

PIMA COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT 
Tobacco and Chronic Disease Prevention 

3950 S. Country Club Road 
Tucson, AZ 85714-2056 

Tel:(520) 243-7904  Fax (520) 243-7955 
 
 
 

http://www.pima.gov/artt


Under 18?

YOU ARE BREAKING THE LAW!

Using Tobacco Underage Can Cost You  
Much More Than a Fine 

N’T!D
You could face a �ne of:

Buying tobacco products?

If you buy, posses, use 
tobacco products 
underage

If you buy, sell, give 
tobacco products to an 
underage person

$300

If  you use a fake ID to 
buy, posses, use tobacco 
products underage

$500

Choose To Refuse

For more information call the 
Pima County Health Department:

520-243-7904

See A.R.S. § 13-3622(A) See A.R.S. § 13-3622(B)



tobacco sales: what you need to know

What is considered a tobacco product?

What is breaking the law?

What happens if you get caught?

Tips when making a tobacco sale:

• Cigarettes
• Cigars
• Chewing Tobacco
• Dissolvable Tobacco
• Snu�
• Snus

• Pipe Tobacco
• Bidis
• Shisha
• Kreteks (Cloves)
• Cigarette Papers
• Cigar Wraps

Furnishing tobacco products to a minor
 • Selling any tobacco product to a minor
 • Selling any tobacco product to an adult when  
   it is obvious that the product is for a minor
 • Giving tobacco products to a minor
See A.R.S. § 13-3622(A)

• Charged with a petty o�ense by law enforcement
• Fined up to $300
• Fined up to $1,000 for the retail owner
• You may be suspended and/or terminated by the employer

• Ask for government-issued picture ID.
• Examine the ID for authenticity.
• Compare likeness of photo to buyer.
• Use electronic age veri�cation (EAV) device.
• Use age veri�cation signage.
• Don’t assume the buyer “looks old enough.” Ask for proof.
• Don’t rush or be rushed. Take your time.
• Don’t feel bullied. You’re the boss. Be firm.  
• Don’t be distracted by looks or �irting.
• Don’t try to be the “cool guy/girl.”

For more information call the Pima County Health Department: 520-243-7904

Why risk your hard earned money 
to sell tobacco product to a minor?When in doubt REFUSE THE SALE!

• Smoking or chewing tobacco of any kind
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