• Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS
  • Permitting regulation for Tiny Houses


    A tiny house is a single family dwelling of maximum 400 square feet

    Zoning Code Requirements

    • Tiny houses built on permanent foundations are permitted in any zones allowing detached single family dwellings
    • Tiny houses built on a chassis where the suspension/axle components have been removed and the chassis permanently attached on a permanent foundation will be treated as factory-built buildings allowable only in the following zones: CR-3, CR-4, CR-5, TR, ML, SP, CB-1 and CB-2
    • Tiny houses on mobile chassis are considered trailers and are only permitted in the following zones: RH, GR-1, SH, MU, CMH1, CMH2 and IR
    • Tiny houses regulated by the State of Arizona shall be permitted in zones in accordance with the Arizona defined housing category

    Building Code Requirements

    • Tiny houses shall be built and inspected in accordance with the 2018 IRC Appendix Q.
    • The house can be partially or entirely built on-site or off-site. If built off-site, it needs to have been permitted by a recognized agency (jurisdiction with a code approval process similar to that of Pima County), or by an approved tiny house fabricator accredited by the International Accreditation Services, Inc., HUD, or similar organization.
    • The following code adjustments shall be allowed:
      • Number of electrical circuits may be reduced to reflect loads
      • Alternative compliance with NFPA 501 for mechanical/electrical systems is recognized

    What is required for submittal?

    Follow UsShare this page

    Development Services

    201 N. Stone Ave.
    Tucson, AZ 85701

    Lobby hours are
    8:00 am to 4:00 pm
    Monday - Friday
    County observed holidays

    (520) 724-9000

    Department Home Page
    Phone Call Back
    Department Fees
    Department Directory
    Department Feedback Form
    Boards, Commissions and Committees
    Zoning Code
    Online Payments

    Carla Blackwell

    Chris Poirier
    Deputy Director

    Joseph Godoy
    Deputy Director

     Daniel Ice
    Chief Building Official

    Rick Wilburg
    Assistant Building Official