Health Alert:   COVID-19 Transmission Level:   HIGH   More information
Get vaccinated.

Birth Certificates

Note: To help slow the spread of COVID-19, our office is not currently offering walk-in service. Requests for records may be made through the mail or online. 

Obtaining an Arizona Birth Certificate:

Vital Records Office
(520) 724-7932 
Email: vital@pima.gov 

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

For Corrections, Court Orders and Paternities. please call our office for additional information.

By MAIL:

  1. Pick up an application/request form at our office or print a form in English or español.
  2. Please provide a copy of applicant's valid ID or have the application notarized.
  3. Check Eligibility Requirements tab (above) to see if you need to mail any additional documents.
  4. Mail the appropriate fee ($20 each). Please allow 1-2 weeks from the time you mail your application
  5. Please send us a self-addressed stamped envelope. If you wish to have expedited delivery, please send us a self addressed stamped envelope (Examples: USPS Overnight, FedEx, Certified Mail).

BY DROPBOX:

  1. Pick up an application/request at our lobby or print out a form in English or español.
  2. Please provide a copy of applicant's valid ID or have the application notarized.
  3. Check Eligibility Requirements tab (above) to see if you need any additional documents.
  4. Include the appropriate fee ($20 each).
  5. Please send us a self-addressed stamped envelope. If you wish to have expedited service, please provide an expedited envelope (Examples: USPS Overnight, FedEx, Certified Mail).
  6. Place all items together in a single sealed envelope and place in the dropbox located in our lobby. Please allow one week from the time you drop off your application/request to receive your documents. 

ONLINE and EXPEDITED ORDERS:

VitalChek is your direct connection to order certified copies of Arizona vital records (with government seal) for your immediate family - order online and receive them by express mail. VitalChek is an independent vendor and not a program of the Pima County Health Department. 

Information on ordering out of state certificates.

Eligibility Requirements for Certificates

Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate.

Note: An applicant presenting documents from a foreign country as proof of relationship or proof of legal interest must provide certified copies of the documents. Photocopies are not acceptable. If an evidentiary document is in a language other than English, it must be accompanied by:
  • An English translation of the evidentiary document; and
  • A written statement signed by the translator, attesting that the translator is competent to translate the evidentiary document and that the English translation is an accurate and complete translation of the evidentiary document.
Arizona is a "closed record" state. That means that vital records are not public record. Arizona law restricts the public's access to vital records as follows to protect the confidentiality rights of our citizens. Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) R9-19-210 and R9-19-211 specifies that only the following may receive a certified copy of a birth certificate:

Click on your description below for more information about your eligibility to obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate.

Registrant (self)

The registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of their birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The registrant is over 18 years of age.
  • The registrant submits a signed application
  • The registrant provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  • The registrant submits the appropriate fee(s).
If the registrant is less than 18 years of age, documentation that the registrant is emancipated, according to A.R.S. Title 12, chapter 15, or married is required (i.e. a certified court order documenting the registrant has been emancipated or a marriage certificate proving the registrant is married.)

Parents

Parents of a child are eligible to receive a certified copy of a birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The parent is named on the birth certificate.
  • If the parent is not listed on the birth certificate, either:
    • A certified copy of a court order of adoption or certificate of adoption for the registrant that names the applicant as the registrant's parent.
    • A certified copy of a court order that names the applicant as the registrant's parent.
  • The parent submits a signed application.
  • The parent provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  • The parent submits the appropriate fee(s).

Spouse

The spouse of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her spouse's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The spouse provides a notarized letter of permission signed by the registrant. If the letter is not notarized, a copy of the registrant's valid government issued identification must be presented along with the letter.
  • The spouse/applicant provides a copy of the marriage certificate for the registrant and spouse.
  • The spouse submits a signed application.
  • The spouse submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  • The spouse submits the appropriate fee(s).

Grandparent

The grandparent of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her grandchild's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The grandparent must provide;
    • The birth certificate of their child, the parent who is named on the registrant's birth certificate or
    • If the grandparent's child (mother or father named on the registrant's certificate) was born in Arizona, provide the name and date of birth of that child for verification in the Bureau of Vital Records’ Electronic Birth Registry System.
    • The grandparent submits a signed application.
    • The grandparent submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
    • The grandparent submits the appropriate fee(s).

Adult Child

The adult child of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her parent's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The adult child must:
    • Be at least 18 years of age
    • Produce a copy of his/her birth certificate which names the registrant as the parent of the applicant OR provide the full name and date of birth for the adult child born in Arizona.
    • Submit a signed application.
    • Submit a valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
    • Submit the appropriate fee(s).

Adult Grandchild

The adult child of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her parent's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The adult grandchild must be at least 18 years of age.
  • The adult grandchild must:
    • Submit a copy of his/her birth certificate which names the registrant's child as the parent of the grandchild.
    • The grandchild shall submit a copy of his/her parent's birth/death certificate that links the grandchild to the registrant.
    • If the births/deaths occurred in Arizona, a search can be completed in the applicable electronic registry system to verify the birth/death records.
    • The adult grandchild submits a signed birth application.
    • The adult grandchild submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
    • The adult grandchild submits the appropriate fee(s).

Adult Brother or Sister

The adult brother or sister of a registrant is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her sibling's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The adult brother or sister must be at least 18 years of age.
  • The adult brother or sister must:
    • Produce a copy of his/her birth certificate which shows at least one common parent shared by the applicant and registrant or
    • If the adult brother or sister child was born in Arizona, provide the name and date of birth of the adult brother or sister's for verification in the Bureau of Vital Records’ Electronic Birth Registry System to confirm at least one common parent is shared by the applicant and the registrant.
    • The adult brother/sister submits a signed application.
    • The adult brother/sister submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
    • The adult brother/sister submits appropriate fee(s).

Guardian

The guardian is eligible to receive a certified copy of his/her birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The guardian must:
    • Provide a copy of the Order for Permanent Guardianship of the registrant or
    • Provide a copy of the Order for Temporary Guardianship of the registrant. Note: The application must be filed within the time frame of the temporary order
    • The guardian submits a signed application.
    • The guardian submits valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
    • The guardian submits the appropriate fee(s).

A Person Designated in a Power of Attorney

A person designated in a power of attorney, established by the individual’s parent or guardian according to A.R.S. §§ 14-5104 or 14-5107 is eligible to receive a certified copy of the birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • A copy of the power of attorney document
    • A power of attorney granted by a parent or guardian of a minor or incapacitated person, according to A.R.S. §14-5104 is valid 6 months from the date the power of attorney document is signed or notarized.
    • A power of attorney granted by a military member who is a parent or guardian of a minor child or ward, according to A.R.S. §14-5107 is valid for (12 months) from the date the power of attorney documents are signed or notarized.
  • The person designated in the power of attorney submits a signed application.
  • The person designated in the power of attorney provides valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
  • The person designated in the power of attorney submits the appropriate fee(s).

Conservator

The person appointed as the registrant's conservator is eligible to receive a certified copy of the registrant's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The conservator must:
    • Provide a certified copy of the court order establishing conservatorship.
    • Submit a signed application.
    • Submit a valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
    • Submit the appropriate fee(s).

A Person Designated in a Court Order

A person named in a court order to receive a certified copy of a birth certificate is eligible to receive a certified copy of the registrant's birth certificate if the following criteria are met:
  • The person named in the court order must:
    • Provide a certified copy of the court order.
    • Submit a signed application.
    • Submit a valid government issued identification or notarized signature on the application.
    • Submit the appropriate fee(s).

Attorney Representing the Registrant, Registrant's Parent or Guardian

The attorney of the registrant, registrant's parent or guardian is eligible to receive a certified copy of the registrant's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The attorney must submit:
    • A completed, signed application or a letter of request on his/her letterhead stating their professional relationship to the registrant or registrant's parent or guardian if the registrant is a minor. The letter must contain the following information:
      • The attorney's name and state bar number
      • Contact information for the attorney (telephone number or an e-mail address)
      • Name of the person the attorney is representing
      • The person's relationship to the registrant
      • The registrant's name.
      • The registrant's sex
      • The registrant's date of birth
      • The name of the registrant's mother prior to first marriage
      • If known, the:
        • State file number on the birth certificate
        • Town/city of the registrant's birth
        • County of the registrant's birth
        • Hospital where the registrant was born, if applicable
        • Name of the registrant's father, if applicable; and
        • Dates of birth of the registrant's parents.
    • The number of certified copies of the registrant's birth certificate being requested
    • Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-211(E) states the request, must be notarized or the applicant shall submit a photocopy of a valid government-issued identification.
    • The attorney must provide documentation stating the attorney has been retained by the registrant, parent or guardian.
    • If applicable, a certified copy of the applicable court order (i.e. court order of adoption, certificate of adoption, etc). for the parent that proves parentage if the parent is not listed on the registrant's birth certificate. If the attorney is representing the guardian, a court order of guardianship must be submitted.
    • The attorney submits appropriate fee(s).

Adoption Agencies Representing Biological or Adoptive Parents

Adoption agencies representing the adoptive or biological parents of a registrant are eligible for a certified copy of the registrant's birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The adoption agency must provide:
    • A completed, signed application or a letter of request on his/her letterhead stating their professional relationship to the biological or adoptive parents. The letter must contain the following information:
      • The name, license number and address of the adoption agency
      • The name and contact information for the adoption agency's designee (telephone number or an e-mail address)
      • Name of the person the attorney is representing
      • The person's relationship to the registrant
      • The registrant's name.
      • The registrant's sex
      • The registrant's date of birth
      • The name of the registrant's mother prior to first marriage
      • If known, the:
        • State file number on the birth certificate
        • Town/city of the registrant's birth
        • County of the registrant's birth
        • Hospital where the registrant was born, if applicable
        • Name of the registrant's father, if applicable; and
        • Dates of birth of the registrant's parents.
      • The number of certified copies of the registrant's birth certificate being requested.
    • The application or letter must contain a notarized signature, or a signature along with a photocopy of the signer's valid government issued photo identification.
    • A copy of the petition to adopt that includes the names of the registrant and the registrant's biological parents or adoptive parents and that has been filed with a court.
    • If not included in the petition, a copy of a document stating the adoption agency is representing the biological parents or adoptive parents.
    • The adoption agency submits the appropriate fee(s).
Note: If the court records are not available, the adoption agency can have the birth parent complete the Bureau of Vital Records' birth application and instruct the parent to enter the adoption agency's name and address on the application in the mailing address field. A copy of the parent's valid government issued picture identification must be included with application or the parent must sign the application in the presence of a notary. The application must be signed by the birth parent.

Private Attorney Representing Adoptive Parents

The attorney representing the adoptive parent(s) in an adoption proceeding is eligible to receive a certified copy of the registrant's birth pre-adoption birth certificate if all of the following criteria are met:
  • The attorney must submit an application or letter of request on his/her letterhead stating their professional relationship to the adoptive parent(s), signed by the attorney. The letter must contain the following:
    • The attorney's name and state bar number
    • Contact information for the attorney (telephone number or an e-mail address)
    • Name of the person the attorney is representing
    • The person's relationship to the registrant
    • The registrant's name.
    • The registrant's sex
    • The registrant's date of birth
    • The name of the registrant's mother prior to first marriage
    • If known, the:
      • State file number on the birth certificate
      • Town/city of the registrant's birth
      • County of the registrant's birth
      • Hospital where the registrant was born, if applicable
      • Name of the registrant's father, if applicable; and
      • Dates of birth of the registrant's parents.
    • The number of certified copies of the registrant's birth certificate being requested.
  • Arizona Administrative Code R9-19-211(E) states the request, must be notarized or the applicant shall submit a photocopy of a valid government-issued identification.
  • The attorney must provide documentation stating the attorney has been retained by the adoptive parents.
  • A copy of the petition to adopt that includes the names of the registrant and the registrant's adoptive parents that has been filed with a court.
  • If the court records are not available, the attorney can have the birth parent complete the Bureau of Vital Records' birth application and instruct the parent to enter the attorney's name and address on the application in the mailing address field. A copy of the parent's valid government issued picture identification must be included with application or the parent must sign the application in the presence of a notary. The application must be signed by the birth parent.
  • The attorney submits appropriate fee(s).

FORMS OF ACCEPTABLE IDENTIFICATION

Per the Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Vital Records the following forms of personal identification are required when submitting either an in-person or by mail application for Arizona vital records.  Please review the list below carefully.


Per the Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Vital Records the following forms of personal identification are required when submitting either an in-person or by mail application for Arizona vital records.  Please review the list below carefully.



In-Person Requests:

Any applicant who applies in person must present a valid government-issued form of photo identification. All types of identification are to be reviewed for evidence of tampering, expiration date that has not passed, comparison of the photo with the bearer’s actual appearance, comparison of the signature with the signature on the application. Notarized applications are not accepted in person in lieu of identification.

Specific forms of identification that ARE acceptable include the following:

  • United States issued Drivers Licenses (temporary IDs are not acceptable)
  • United States issued Identification Card
  • United States Territories Driver’s License or Identification Card
  • Tribal Identification Cards that contains bearer’s signature
  • U.S. Military Identification Cards that contains bearer’s signature (some do not)
  • Passports-United States or Foreign issued
  • Visa –In a passport and the bearer’s signature is on the passport not the Visa
  • Permanent Resident Card issued on or after May 11, 2010 which includes a visible signature
  • Resident Alien Card (Form I-551)
  • Foreign Consulate Identification Card (only acceptable if the foreign government uses biometric identity verification techniques in issuing the Consular Identification Card, (e.g., fingerprint identification, retina scans)

Specific forms of identification that are NOT acceptable include the following:

  • Foreign Consulate Identification Card (that do not utilize biometric identity verification techniques as referenced above)
  • Mexican Voter Registration Card “Credencial Para Votar”
  • Permanent Resident Card issued prior to May 11, 2010 which does not have a visible signature
  • Alien Registration Receipt Card Form I-151 (was replaced by the I-551)
  • USA B1/B2 Visa/BCC (Form DSP-150)
  • Non-resident Border Crosser Card (Form I-586)
  • Non-resident Alien Mexican Border Crosser Card (Form I-186)
  • Non-resident Alien Canadian Border Crosser Card (Form I-185)
  • U.S. Citizen Identification Card (Form I-197)
  • Arizona Department of Corrections Released Offender Card
  • Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division Temporary Driver’s License or other forms of temporary identification issued that state, "Not Valid for ID Purposes"
  • D.E.S. Food Stamp Card
  • School Identification Card
  • Tribal Identification Cards that DO NOT contain bearer’s signature
  • U.S Military Identification Cards that DO NOT contain bearer’s signature
  • U.S. Passport Cards that DO NOT contain the bearer’s signature
  • Foreign Driver’s License
  • International Driver’s License
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-766)

Mail Requests:

Any applicant who applies by mail must provide a photocopy of both the front and back of their valid government-issued form of photo identification or have their signature notarized. All copies of identification documents are to be reviewed for evidence of tampering, expiration date that has not passed, comparison of the signature with the signature on the application.

Specific Forms of Identification that ARE acceptable include the following:

  • United States issued Drivers Licenses (temporary IDs are not acceptable)
  • United States issued Identification Card
  • United States Territories Driver’s License or Identification Card
  • Tribal Identification Cards that contains bearer’s signature
  • U.S. Military Identification Cards that contains bearer’s signature (some do not)
  • Passports-United States or Foreign issued
  • Visa –In a passport and the bearer’s signature is on the passport not the Visa
  • Permanent Resident Card issued on or after May 11, 2010 which includes a visible  signature
  • Resident Alien Card (Form I-551)
  • Foreign Consulate Identification Card (only acceptable if the foreign government uses biometric identity verification techniques in issuing the Consular Identification Card, (e.g., fingerprint identification, retina scans)

Specific forms of identification that are NOT acceptable include the following:

  • Foreign Consulate Identification Card (that do not utilize biometric identity verification techniques as referenced above)
  • Mexican Voter Registration Card “Credencial Para Votar”
  • Permanent Resident Card issued prior to May 11, 2010 which does not have a visible signature
  • Alien Registration Receipt Card Form I-151(was replaced by the I-551)
  • USA B1/B2 Visa/BCC (Form DSP-150)
  • Non-resident Border Crosser Card (Form I-586)
  • Non-resident Alien Mexican Border Crosser Card (Form I-186)
  • Non-resident Alien Canadian Border Crosser Card (Form I-185)
  • U.S. Citizen Identification Card (Form I-197)
  • Arizona Department of Corrections Released Offender Card
  • Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division Temporary Driver’s License or other forms of temporary identification issued that state, "Not Valid for ID Purposes"
  • D.E.S. Food Stamp Card
  • School Identification Card
  • Tribal Identification Cards that DO NOT contain bearer’s signature
  • U.S Military Identification Cards that DO NOT contain bearer’s signature
  • U.S. Passport Cards that DO NOT contain the bearer’s signature
  • Foreign Driver’s License
  • International Driver’s License
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-766)

Follow Us Share this page

Health Department Office of Vital Records

3950 S. Country Club Road, Suite 100
Tucson, AZ 85714
(520) 724-7932

phab logo

 


Department Home
Department News
Department Hours
Directory
Feedback
Calendar
Meetings