Pima County Government Logo
  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS
  • Peck elected head of Arizona Justice of the Peace Association

    Sep 26, 2019 | Read More News
    Share this page
    The Arizona Justice of the Peace Association elected officers and directors for the 2019-2020 year during its annual judicial conference in Prescott, Sept. 3-6. 

    More than 130 judges, magistrates, and court personnel attended. Members elected a president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, and new board members.
    John Peck
    Ajo Justice Court Presiding Justice John Peck was elected president by a vote of his peers, succeeding Payson Justice of the Peace Dorothy Little. Judge Peck has been a member of the Association since 2014 and has served previously as board secretary and vice president. He has helped plan the annual judicial conference for the past three years. Named a pro tem judge by the Pima County Board of Supervisors in 2012, the Tucson native was elected to his first term in 2014 and re-elected in 2018 to a second four-year-term.

    Formed in 2000, the AJPA assists its member JPs with consistent improvement and growth through education and communication while at the same time promoting the highest standards of professionalism and protecting the interests and independence of the Justice of the Peace Courts in Arizona.

    Each full-time judge in the state is required to annually complete a minimum 16 hours of continuing education covering legislative and rule changes, civil and criminal law, as well as attend the statewide Judicial Conference in June.

    Other officers and board members elected to the JP Association include:

    Vice-President -- Rob Krombeen, Coconino County Justice of the Peace
    Treasurer -- Michael Skiles, Bowie Justice of the Peace
    Secretary -- Cathy Riggs, Desert Ridge Justice of the Peace

    Board Members include:
    Gerald Williams -- North Valley Justice of the Peace
    Wyatt Palmer -- Graham County Justice of the Peace
    Charlene Pesquiera -- Pima County Consolidated Justice Court
    Erica Cornejo -- Pima County Consolidated Justice Court
    Donald Roberts -- Page Justice of the Peace
    Barbara Brown -- North Canyon Justice of the Peace
    Russ Jones -- Wellton Justice of the Peace
    David Widmaier -- Pinetop/Lakeside Justice of the Peace
    Sherwood Johnston -- Paradise Valley Magistrate
    Dorothy Little -- Payson Regional Courts
    Sam Goodman -- San Tan Justice of the Peace
    Steve Urie -- Highland Justice of the Peace
    Gary Griffith -- Graham County Justice of the Peace
    Bruce Staggs -- Benson Justice of the Peace
    Keith Russell -- East Mesa Justice Court