• Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS
  • Downtown-area Sites

    El Paso and Southwestern Railroad Depot - 22

    Big Boy train
    Year Built/Established:
    1912

    Architect/Style/Site Function: Neoclassical Revival 

    Description: Built in 1912 as a depot for the El Paso and Southwestern Railroad. This building exemplifies the opulence of the Neo-Classical architectural style highlighting this period of economic growth in Tucson. The neo classical style is illustrated with four large columns made from Indiana limestone. This short lived depot (1912-1924) was constructed for the sole use by the railroad created by the Phelps-Dodge Corporation established for the transportation of copper from the rich ore mines of Southeastern Arizona. 

    Sosa Carrillo Fremont House - 23

    Photo to come
    Description: 
    This building was preserved during the urban renewal projects of the 1960s that razed a large portion of the original barrios in this area. It is a fine example of the Spanish and Mexican heritage and stands as an example of architecture that was once common to the Tucson townscape circa 1870. It represents the "Zaguan" plan type; two distinct domestic areas joined by a common drive which leads to an interior courtyard. Named for former owners Jose Maria and Solana M. Sosa and Leopoldo Carrillo and Mrs. Jesus Suarez Carrillo, it is thought that John C. Fremont, the Territorial Governor of Arizona, and his family resided in the Carrillo House while in Tucson.  Carrillo himself was an outstanding Tucson citizen and businessman—a founding member of the Arizona Pioneers' Historical Society (now Arizona Historical Society).

    La Plaza de la Mesilla - 24

    Photo to come
    Year Built/Established:
    1860s-1960s

    Architect/Style/Site Function: Social

    Description: This location serves Tucsonans as a social gathering space and event center, although its architectural characteristics and surrounding landscape have changed greatly through time. Vestiges of the original plaza remain today near the gazebo, however, in the late 1800s and into the early 1900s La Plaza was bustling with townspeople, horses, music, dances, and more. One noteworthy and vibrant celebration held here more than 100 years ago was San Agustin's feast day, the patron saint of Tucson.

    Old Adobe Patio/C.O. Brown House - 25

    Photo to come
    Description:
    During the Territorial and early American period following arrival of the Southern Pacific Railroad, there was time for practical Mexican building traditions to merge with Anglo styled ornamentations from which a distinctive transitional style emerged. This building represents one of a small number of transitional building forms that have survived in Tucson. In 1868, Charles O. Brown bought a flush-to-the-street adobe to which he added new rooms, also in adobe, but with what for the times was an impressive amount of redwood shipped into the territory by steamboat and hauled by wagons to Tucson. Today, the home has been rehabilitated and its historic character retained.

    Marist College - 26

    Marist College
    Acreage: .71

    Period of Significance: 1915-1967

    Description: The Marist College Historic District—built within the St. Augustine’s Cathedral complex—includes Marist College, Our Lady’s Chapel, and Cathedral Parish Hall. The former school, built in 1915 and rehabilitated in 2018, is the only surviving three-story adobe building in Arizona and served as the original day and boarding school for boys in Tucson.  In 1924, the school was opened to both sexes and all races. The district’s buildings were constructed of adobe in an eclectic style that exhibits Spanish and Italian influences, as a testament to Arizona’s enduring Mexican-American culture.

    Julian-Drew Building - 27

    Photo to come
    Year Built/Established:
    1917

    Architect/Style/Site Function: Neoclassical Revival 

    Description: When constructed, this building was one of the first of its kind—an automobile dealership that provided an indoor display showroom. Its lower floor offered large picture windows for the display of the most recent automobile models available to the citizens of Tucson and the second story served as the Lewis Hotel. Its location at the southwest corner of Fifth Avenue and Broadway Boulevard, and only three blocks from the City Center, provided prominent visibility to downtown travelers. Today, Broadway Boulevard continues to be one of the main circulation corridors to the downtown area though the original business did not last.

    Rialto Theater & Building - 28

    Rialto Theater
    Year Built/Established:
    1919

    Architect/Style/Site Function: William Curlett and Son / Art Nouveau (interior)

    Description: The original 1,240 seat showhouse, which opened in late August of 1920, was strategically located at the far east end of Congress Street, Tucson's "Main Street." One of the finest theaters in the West, the Rialto was equipped to show full-scale opera and live vaudeville acts as well as film. An irreplaceable part of Tucson's community heritage, the Rialto represents the theme of theater and entertainment during the third (1896-1935) and fourth (1935-1970) periods of Tucson’s downtown development.

    Hotel Congress - 29

    Hotel Congress
    Year Built/Established: 1919

    Architect/Style/Site Function: William Curlett and Son / Spanish Colonial Revival influences

    Description: On January 22, 1934 a fire destroyed the third story of the building, housing twenty rooms, that was never rebuilt. During the fire four men had to be rescued from the third floor. These guests insisted that firemen return to the burning building to retrieve their expensive luggage. Several days later a photo in True Detective magazine exposed these guests as the Dillinger Gang. The Tucson Police caught the four men and in searching their luggage they found handcuffs, bulletproof vests, machine guns, and a flour sack containing six thousand dollars in currency. The murals of Native American design throughout the lobby and second story were painted between 1985 and 1990 by the well-known American artist Larry Boyce.

    Southern Pacific Passenger Depot - 30

    Photo to come
    Year Built/Established:
    1907

    Architect/Style/Site Function: Mission Revival

    Description: Built in 1907 to replace the original wooden building, this train depot  experienced several additions in subsequent years. The Southern Pacific Railroad arrived to Tucson in 1880 bringing with it promises progress and modernity. This was largely unmet as Tucson struggled economically for at least two decades following the Railroad’s arrival. This Depot was a stop in Wyatt Earp’s famed “vendetta ride” in 1881, where he, his brother Virgil, and Doc Holliday killed Frank Stillwell, the murderer of Wyatt’s brother, Morgan Earp. The Southern Pacific Railroad locomotive number 1673 is also on display here. Built in 1900 and one of only two remaining, this locomotive weighs in at 146,000 pounds, and was converted from steam, to gas, and finally to superheated equipment. 

    Arizona Hotel - 31

    Photo to come
    Year Built/Established:
    1917

    Architect/Style/Site Function: Neo-Classical Revival

    Description: The history of Arizona Hotel is obscure. A bargain and sale deed, dated 1914, granted the land on which the Arizona Hotel now occupies to Luke G. Radulovich. Radulovich, referred to in the city directories of that time as a "capitalist", is more renown in Tucson's downtown development for the Radulovich Block (now demolished), a prominent two-part commercial block at the northeast corner of Stone and Congress where he had ·a thriving business, "L.G. Radulovich & Co. Sanitary Plumbing, Crockery & Glassware."

    J.C. Penney-Chicago Store - 32

    Photo to come
    Description:
    The period of this building's significance begins with the date of its construction in 1903 as general-use, two-part commercial block that would serve Tucson’s central business district. The building is named for its recognizable tenants including the longest of these tenants, J.C. Penney, whose operations took place here from 1927 to 1957. Rehabilitations in the form of a façade improvement have been done in recent decades and the building continues to serve its original function as commercial space for Tucson businesses.

    First Hittinger Block - 33

    Photo to come
    Description:
    In 2003 the original façade of this building (118-122 E. Congress Street) was unveiled during a historic rehabilitation project. Hidden for many years behind a stucco sheath that masked the entire Italianate-style, second-story brick façade, the history of this building’s operation and use includes a number of owners and tenants. Especially noteworthy was the early twentieth-century ownership/tenancy of Tucson pioneer Harry Arizona Drachman who ran his shoe store from the premises. The building represents the commerce that flourished during significant periods of Tucson's central business district development and continues today.

    Rebeil Block - 34

    Photo to come
    Description:
    The Rebeil Block is a two-part commercial block which occupies a prominent location on the southwest comer of Congress and Scott. Its principal tenant for many years was the Indian Village Trading Post. In many respects, the commercial block represents the typical "Man Street" downtown building and further tells the history of the development of Tucson’s central business district. The original, styled turn-of-the-century structure with textured brick façade would later being stuccoed and otherwise modernized sometime between 1925 and the late 1930s like many buildings downtown. This modification gives a modest Spanish Colonial Revival look. Downtown revitalization efforts in the area are ongoing today.

    U.S. Post Office and Courthouse - 35

    Photo to come
    Description:
     The final construction of this building in 1930 represents Tucson's part of an extensive federal building program initiated in the late 1920s by the Hoover administration – the forerunner to Roosevelt's Public Works Administration. As the first federal building erected in the city, it was a source of pride for Tucson and a locally prominent symbol of the federal government. The building is noted to be the most refined of Tucson's Depression-era architecture and its original lower frieze panel remains a striking feature with red painted letters incised in terra cotta blocks.

    Valley National Bank Building - 36

    Photo to come
    Description:
    This building is a ten-story, three-part vertical block with basement, with a high first story banking room which includes a mezzanine and offices above. The skeleton of the building is fireproof steel frame and poured concrete megaliths which form its exterior. The Bank's design and decoration were very late examples of the influence of the 1893 Columbian Exposition in Chicago which showcased many examples of eclectic revival styles that stressed correct historical interpretations of European styles such as the Italian Renaissance Revival style this building exhibits. The interior decoration and mural paintings further testify to the influence of the 1893 Columbian Exposition in which American art became "international" and images of "manifest destiny" in nineteenth century American art were revived. After all, the Columbian Exposition celebrated the four hundredth anniversary of Columbus' supposed discovery of America which was the beginning of westward expansion in the United States. This building is considered Tucson’s first skyscraper.

    Fox Theater & Commercial Building - 37

    Fox Theater
    Description: The 1,300 seat Fox Theatre opened in 1930 being strategically located on Congress Street near Stone Avenue, historically the "epicenter" of downtown Tucson. It represents an irreplaceable part of Tucson's community heritage and is significant for its association with the theme of theater and entertainment in the central business district. The building, especially with respect to its interior appointments, is an excellent example of the Art Deco style with Southwest influences. From the street it is a two-part commercial block, the west segment of which is a traditional 1930s theatre building. Vacant for many years, funds were raised for its stabilization, preservation and rehabilitation and today, the theater continues to serve its original purpose and retains its lavish interior ornamentation.

    Arizona Daily Star Building - 38

    Photo to come
    Description:
    This building may be the only remaining commercial building of that vintage in the downtown area. For more than three decades the building housed the offices and presses of the Arizona Daily Star, one of the early newspapers (still in publication today) printed in the rapidly-growing community at that time. Having practiced first in the San Francisco area where the Italianate style from the East was flourishing, architect Petit came to Tucson with the arrival of the Southern Pacific Railroad in 1880. Possibly the only remaining commercial building in Arizona designed by this architect, the Arizona Daily Star Building is a styled version of a typical "Main Street" type known as the "two-part commercial block" featuring a public, street-level commercial zone and a private, second-story office zone.

    Pima County Courthouse - 39

    Courthouse dome

    Description: Built in 1929 by prominent local architect Roy Place, the iconic Pima County Courthouse is perhaps the most outstanding Spanish Colonial Revival building in Arizona and features a brilliantly colored tile mosaic on the roof of the central dome. The 1929 Courthouse replaced the 1881 County Courthouse building, and operated until 2015 when Justice Court and other services were moved into the Pima County Public Service Center. By 2020, it will be home to the Southern Arizona Heritage and Visitor Center and the Gem and Mineral Museum. One notable court case tried in the 1929 Courthouse was the extradition trial of John Dillinger, a notorious gangster captured in downtown Tucson in 1934. The “Dillinger Courtroom” remains unchanged since his trial.

    El Presidio Museum - 40

    El Presidio Museum
    Description:
    The Presidio San Agustín del Tucson Museum is a modern reconstruction/simulation of the Tucson Presidio which was originally built in 1775. Docent tours discuss life in the Santa Cruz Valley for early Native Americans, Presidio residents and soldiers and Territorial period settlers.  The archaeological remains of a pit house are available for viewing and entry to the museum has visitors walk along the location original presidio wall and experience the preserved architecture of a 150 year old Traditional Sonoran rowhouse.

    Levi H. Manning House - 41

    Photo to come
    Description:
    The imposing Levi H. Manning House stands on 10.3 acres at the southwestern corner of the El Presidio District on the quiet curve of Paseo Redondo. The home was built in 1907-08 by Levi Howell Manning, prominent Tucson civic leader and entrepreneur. The original layout included a rectangular 10-room main house connected by an arched loggia to a utility wing. These elements created a central patio. The original floor plan included four bedrooms, two baths, a dressing room, a breakfast room, a kitchen, a dining room, a living room, a library, and a reception area. Some alterations were made to the home by Manning heirs in the 1950s, the same Mannings that owned and operated Canoa Ranch near Tubac.

    University of Arizona Campus Historic District - 42

    UA campus Old Main
     Acreage:
    34.8

    Date listed on National Register: 6/13/86

    Period of Significance: 1885-1938

    Description: The University of Arizona Campus Historic District boasts a number of exquisite buildings featuring symmetry, rhythm, composition, scale, and environment in styles of Territorial Victorian, Queen Anne, and revivalist (Classical, Renaissance, Italian, and Spanish Romanesque).  The second stylistic phase included red brick buildings in Classical Revival Style, cohesive landscape elements, Spanish tile roofs, and Southwestern Indian motifs (“Pueblo Deco”).  By 1938, the district had helped establish the University of Arizona’s local, state and national prominence.  After which, by 1940, modern architecture consciously replaced historicism and revivalism. 

    Catalina American Baptist Church - 43

    Photo to come
    Description:
    The primary character-defining feature of the Catalina American Baptist Church sanctuary is a thin-shell concrete hyperbolic paraboloid roof—a roof form associated with national and international trends of the Modernist period. Floor-to-ceiling glass window walls enclose the space on four sides, along with exposed aggregate concrete walls. In 2005, a new multi-purpose church complex was built on the property, east of the original sanctuary. The original sanctuary is in excellent condition and has had very little alteration since its construction. Although slight modifications have been made to the windows and some interior finishes, the building retains and expresses its original character.

    Professor George E. P. Smith House - 44

    Photo to come
    Description:
    This house is historically significant as the residence of Professor George Smith, a University of Arizona civil engineering professor and geologist whose work with underground water supplies and desert irrigation techniques played a key role in facilitating agricultural expansion in Arizona and other parts of the southwest. Smith, who was apparently fluent with the popular architectural styles at the turn of the century, designed the house himself in 1904, incorporating Queen Anne features which distinguish the house from the simpler Anglo-Territorial style dwellings characteristic of Tucson during the early twentieth century. The Smith House is also significant as one of the first residences of University of Arizona professors built adjacent to the campus in what was then an isolated desert area outside the city.

    Dr. William Austin Cannon House - 45

    Photo to come
    Description: The Cannon/Douglass House, built for William A. Cannon in 1906, is significant for its historic associations with two notable Arizona scientists, William A. Cannon and Andrew E. Douglass s both University of Arizona professors with national reputations for their scientific achievements -- Cannon for his research in desert ecology and Douglass as the founder of dendrochronology. The Cannon/Douglass House is also significant for its relationship to the early twentieth century history of Tucson as one of the first houses constructed by a University of Arizona professor when Tucson's University environs were emerging as residential areas. The Cannon/Douglass House shares this significance with the George E. P. Smith House located immediately to the east.
    Follow UsShare this page

    The Chuck Huckelberry Loop

    Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation

    3500 W. River Road
    Tucson, AZ 85741
    (520) 724-5000


    Regional Flood Control District
    201 N. Stone, 9th Floor
    Tucson, AZ 85701
    (520) 724-4600


    Department News
    Department Directory
    Department Feedback Form
    Department Calendar
    Donate to improve The Loop or fund a memorial bench