• Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Print
  • RSS
  • Sewers, Onsite Wastewater Treatment Facilities & Public Water Systems

    HB2212 Required Language for Pima County Permit, License, and Application Forms


    The processes reflected on this page have an effective date of September 1, 2017

    Activity Scope Requiring County Review

    • ADEQ delegated review authority to Pima County:
      • Construction of or modification to private building sewers designed for flows at or exceeding 3000 gallons per day from more than one building
      • Private lift stations or force mains serving more than one dwelling
      • Construction of or modifications to public sewer conveyance systems
      • Onsite  wastewater treatment facilities
      • Public water system improvements (Tucson Water limited to water line extensions)
    • Private development built Regional Wastewater Reclamation Department (RWRD) sewers or connections thereto:
      • Construction resulting in a new or modified connection discharging to the public sewer
      • Construction resulting in new or change in water meter size
      • Construction of public sewer extension
      • New commercial tenant improvements in shell buildings (not replacing existing tenant space)
      • Change of use resulting in higher wastewater strength [requiring industrial waste review] or higher volume discharge [requiring capacity review] (e.g., restaurant, bakery, medical facility)
      • Permits for structures or sites containing existing public sewer infrastructure (to ensure that development does not prevent access to RWRD infrastructure)

    Building Permits

    Commercial Site Concept Plans/Tentative Plats

    Improvement Plans

    Final Plat

    Rezoning or Site Analysis

    Follow UsShare this page

    Development Services

    201 N. Stone Ave.
    Tucson, AZ 85701

    Lobby hours are
    8:00 am to 4:00 pm
    Monday - Friday
    County observed holidays

    (520) 724-9000

    Department Home Page
    Phone Call Back
    Department Fees
    Department Directory
    Department Feedback Form
    Boards, Commissions and Committees
    Zoning Code
    Online Payments

    Carla Blackwell

    Chris Poirier
    Deputy Director

    Joseph Godoy
    Deputy Director

     Daniel Ice
    Chief Building Official

    Rick Wilburg
    Assistant Building Official